Helpful Sites

Here are some helpful sites on how to write literature reviews:

How to Write a Literature Review
Warner Library's guide to writing a lit. review.
The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It
This guide from the University of Toronto provides you with prompt questions to get you thinking in terms of a literature review.
How to Write a Literature Review
A guide the University of California, Santa Cruz created about literature reviews.
The Literature Review
Here's another overview of a Literature Review from Deakin University.
Literature Reviews
From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A very detailed guide on literature reviews.

RSS Feed

Fun articles about food from NPR.

Welcome!

Welcome to our guide to Food Research. Here you will find information on locating information relating to food production, nutrition, diet-related diseases, world hunger, and food ethnography. It will also help you find articles for your literature review.

How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are different topics. Click on a tab and a page appears listing specific resources pertaining to that topic. Use these resources in your information quest.

As always, if you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me via email, phone, or stop by my office.

Good luck!

Food Science

The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple , Kriemhild Conee Ornelas
Call Number: Credo Reference Ebook
Publication Date: 2000
Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A-Z
Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.
The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion by Sharon Tyler Herbst; Ron Herbst; Alexander Spare; Jonathan Pazol
Call Number: Credo Reference Ebook
ISBN: 9780764162411
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Based on Barron's popular and authoritative The Food Lover's Companion, this enlarged and enhanced new reference volume was written for discerning home chefs and everybody else who wants to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining.
Wine Lover's Companion
Arranged alphabetically, this guide contains comprehensive definitions for wine related terms.
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
First published in 1983, John Mariani's Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Your Librarian

Information Desk at Warner Library

Email Me

Contact:

(610) 341-1777

Definition: Subject Term

A subject term is a word or phrase that captures the essence of your research topic. Subject terms can be specific or broad. Databases like EBSCOhost, JSTOR, ProQuest, etc. all use subject terms as a way to group together articles that present information regarding a similar topic. Some subject terms featured in EBSCOhost relating to agriculture are as follows:

AGRICULTURE
AGRICULTURAL ability
AGRICULTURAL diversification
AGRICULTURAL resources
AGRONOMY
ANTIBIOTICS in agriculture
CROP management
CROP science
ENERGY crops
SUSTAINABLE agriculture

Search Terms

Listed below are a few search terms and phrases that will help you locate articles and other resources about Food. Your search results will be more specific by adding " " at the beginning and end of your search phrase. For examples, please see below. Feel free to add your own search terms by leaving a comment.

General search terms & phrases (will return many results):

Agriculture
Obesity
Diabetes
Nutrition
"Ethnic foods"
"Organic food"

Specific search terms & phrases (will return fewer, yet more specific, results)

"Agricultural production"
"World hunger"
"food cultural practices"
"Children" and "advertising" and "food"
"Food ethnography"
"Sustainable agriculture"

Food-related Resources: Home

Suggested Reading

Helpful Sites

RSS Feed

Welcome!

Food Science

Your Librarian

Definition: Subject Term

Search Terms

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library