LibGuides: Food-related Resources: Diseases

Rapid ILL

Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!

Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.

Journals

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Note: Many journals about nutrition also feature articles about food-related diseases and illnesses. Try consulting them as well.

Clinical Diabetes Journal
Food & Agricultural Immunology
(EBSCOhost)
Obesity Research
Dedicated to increasing knowledge, fostering research, and promoting better treatment for people with obesity, Obesity publishes important peer-reviewed research and cutting-edge reviews, commentaries, public health and medical development

Databases

Here is a list of database providers that contain information about food-related diseases.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains: Dissertations & Theses. Ethnic News Watch and Gender Watch databases.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Contains: Academic Search Complete, ATLA+Serials, Business Source CINAHL, ERIC, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MLA Bibliography, MMY, Philosophers Index, PsychInfo.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes TOXLINE.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.

wired.MD streaMed Patient Portal Consumer Health Information Library
The streaMed Patient Portal patient education and health information solution is the most comprehensive video, handout, animation, and website database available today for consumer health information.

Warner Books

To access some of these ebooks, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Child and Adolescent Obesity by Walter Burniat (Editor); Tim J. Cole (Editor); Inge Lissau (Editor); Elizabeth M. E. Poskitt (Editor)
Call Number: RJ399 .C6 C46 2002 EB
ISBN: 0521026644
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
This book addresses the ever increasing problem of obesity in children and adolescents, the long-term health and social problems that arise from this, and approaches to prevention and management. Aimed at doctors, and all health-care professionals, it will be of interest to all those concerned with the increasing prevalence of obesity in both the developed and developing world. It covers all aspects of obesity from epidemiology and prevention to recent developments in biochemistry and genetics, and to the varied approaches to management which are influenced by social and clinical need. A foreword by William Dietz and a forward-looking 'future perspectives' conclusion by Philip James embrace an international team of authors, all with first-hand experience of the issues posed by obesity in the young. This comprehensive survey of an important and growing medical problem will help inform, influence and educate those charged with tackling this crisis.
Don't Worry (It's Safe to Eat) by Andrew Rowell
Call Number: TP248.65 .F66 R69 2003 EB
ISBN: 1853839329
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
An investigation of science, politics and our food production system, this text exposes the bogus science, political interference and flawed policies that threaten our food supply. The author tells the story of BSE, revealing how top scientists have been muzzled and how the epidemic continues. Then, against a backdrop of burning cows, Andrew Rowell exposes how trade and macro-economic policies overruled good science in the foot and mouth catastrophe. He also opens the black box of the so-called GM revolution to expose the myth behind the marketing. In tracing how critics are silenced in the bottom-line climate of commercialized science and privatized knowledge, Rowell tells the true story of the widely publicized Pusztai GM potato scandal of the late 1990s and the ongoing Mexican maize GM contamination affair. Finally, the book offers radical solutions to make science work in the public interest and provide food that really is safe to eat.
Escherichia coli infections by Shannon D. Manning
Call Number: QR82 .E6 M36 2005
ISBN: 079107949X
Overweight and obesity in America's children : causes, consequences, solutions by Amy B. Jordan
Call Number: H1 .A4 V.615
ISBN: 1412966841
Coronary heart disease by Barry M. Cohen, Bobbie Hasselbring
Call Number: RC685 .C6 C58 2007
ISBN: 1886039836

Diseases

Listed below are diseases that can be linked to food and poor nutrition:

Websites

Food Hazards

Botulism: Topic Page
Acute poisoning resulting from ingestion of food containing toxins produced by the bacillus Clostridium botulinum.
Dysentery: Topic Page
Inflammation of the intestine characterized by the frequent passage of feces, usually with blood and mucus.
E. Coli: Topic Page
Common bacterium that normally inhabits the intestinal tracts of humans and animals, but can cause infection in other parts of the body, especially the urinary tract.
Food Poisoning: Topic Page
Food poisoning, acute illness following the eating of foods contaminated by bacteria, bacterial toxins, natural poisons, or harmful chemical substances.
Hepatitis: Topic Page
Hepatitis, inflammation of the liver. There are many types of hepatitis. Causes include viruses, toxic chemicals, alcohol consumption, parasites and bacteria, and certain drugs.
Mercury Poisoning: Topic Page
Tissue damage resulting from exposure to more than trace amounts of the element mercury or its compounds.
Parasite: Topic Page
Parasite, plant or animal that at some stage of its existence obtains its nourishment from another living organism called the host.
Salmonella: Topic Page
Any of a very varied group of bacteria, genus Salmonella, that colonize the intestines of humans and some animals.
Salmonellosis: Topic Page
Salmonellosis, any of a group of infectious diseases caused by intestinal bacteria of the genus Salmonella, including typhoid fever, paratyphoid fever, blood poisoning, and food poisoning (gastroenteritis).
Tapeworm: Topic Page
Tapeworm, name for the parasitic flatworms forming the class Cestoda.

Food-related Resources: Diseases

Rapid ILL

Journals

Databases

Warner Books

Diseases

Websites

Food Hazards

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library