LibGuides: Food-related Resources: Food ethnography

Search Terms

Try using these search terms and phrase in your information gathering....

Food
Culture(s)
Ethnicity
"Food habits"
"Food cultural practices"
"Culinary habits" (or "practices")
"World food customs"

Rapid ILL

Need an article NOT available in full text? We can get it for you and have it delivered straight to your email. To use RAPID ILL access the link below.

When requesting an article, please make sure to fill in all the boxes. The ISSN is most important!

Journals

Here is a list of journals that contain information related to food ethnography.

To access some of these, you might be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development
Anthropology of Food
A free, open source journal in French and English.
Food & Foodways: History & Culture of Human Nourishment
(EBSCOhost)
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
Warner does not have electronic access to this title. However, we have it in print. Use Sage to search for articles in this journal, write down their citations, and then look them up in our print collection of the journal located on Warner's lower level. (Sage Premier)

Databases

Here is a list of database providers that contain information related to food ethnography.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic versions of the Annual Reviews in Biomedical, Physical and Social Sciences.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains: Dissertations & Theses. Ethnic News Watch and Gender Watch databases.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,000 of the highly regarded Sage Journals, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Contains: Academic Search Complete, ATLA+Serials, Business Source CINAHL, ERIC, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MLA Bibliography, MMY, Philosophers Index, PsychInfo.

Warner Books

To access some of these ebooks, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Everyone Eats: Understanding Food and Culture by E. N. Anderson
Call Number: Ebrary
ISBN: 0814704964
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Fast food : roadside restaurants in the automobile age by John A. Jakle & Keith A. Sculle
Call Number: TX945 .J35 1999
ISBN: 080186920X
Food rules : hunting, sharing, and tabooing game in Papua New Guinea by Harriet Whitehead
Call Number: DU740.42 .W465 2000
ISBN: 0472097059
You eat what you are : a study of ethnic food traditions by Thelma Barer-Stein
Call Number: GT2853.C2 B37 1981
ISBN: 1552093654
Consuming passions: the anthropology of eating by Peter Farb and George Armelagos
Call Number: GN407 .F37

Websites

A History of Eating Utensils
Provides a brief, illustrated history of the development of forks, knives, spoons and portable cutlery
Association for the Study of Food & Society
Culinary Historians of New York
A great website examining the history of food. Provides links to primary and historic sources as well as digital libraries.
Food Timeline
Provides links to over 240 sites for culinary history; especially concerned with “… social history, manners & menus”
Food Studies Links - ASFS
Selected Academic Journals Dealing with Psychological, Social, and Cultural Aspects of Food, Eating, and Nutrition. (Compiled by Jeffery Sobal, Cornell University.)
The Food Museum
A virtual museum dedicated to the exploration of food
The Meaning of Food
An exploration of culture through food.

Food Science

The Cambridge World History of Food
Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A-Z
Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
First published in 1983, John Mariani's Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Food-related Resources: Food ethnography

Search Terms

Rapid ILL

Journals

Databases

Warner Books

Websites

Food Science

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library