LibGuides: Food-related Resources: Vegetarianism/Veganism

Databases

Here is a list of database providers that contain information related to vegetarianism & veganism.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,000 of the highly regarded Sage Journals, covering a variety of disciplines.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals (1.5million statistics). Access infographs, forecasts, charts/graphs, and 2,500 exclusive Dossiers and industry reports (NAICS codes).

Journals

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Vegetarian Times
(EBSCOhost)

Rapid ILL

Need an article NOT available in full text? We can get it for you and have it delivered straight to your email. To use RAPID ILL access the link below.

When requesting an article, please make sure to fill in all the boxes. The ISSN is most important!

Warner Books

To access some of these ebooks, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Sins of the Flesh by Rod Preece
Call Number: eBrary
ISBN: 0774815108
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Unlike previous books on the history of vegetarianism, Sins of the Flesh examines the history of vegetarianism in its ethical dimensions, from the origins of humanity through to the present.
The Vegetarian Solution by Stewart Rose (Editor)
Call Number: RM236 .R67 2007
ISBN: 1570672059
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Concise, comprehensive and to the point, this book discusses how a plant-based diet can help prevent common health problems such as cancer, heart disease, diabetes and other diseases, reduce world hunger through more efficient farming, and help eliminate some of the causes of global warming.
Vegetarianism by Donna Maurer
Call Number: eBrary
ISBN: 9781566399357
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Vegetarianism seems to be increasing in popularity and acceptance in the United States and Canada, yet, quite surprisingly, the percentage of the population practicing vegetarian diets has not changed dramatically over the past 30 years. People typically view vegetarianism as a personal habit or food choice, even though organizations in North America have been promoting vegetarianism as a movement since the 1850s.

EZ Borrow for Books

Need a print book we don't have? Use EZ Borrow! Search and borrow books directly from over 52 college and university member libraries in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, and West Virginia. Books must be picked up at and returned to Warner Memorial Library. Several million to choose from!

Food-related Resources: Vegetarianism/Veganism

Databases

Journals

Rapid ILL

Warner Books

EZ Borrow for Books

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library