Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for images on a particular topic? Search our NEW image database! All images are rights-cleared when using them for educational or non-commercial purposes. Perfect for papers, reports, and presentations!
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Did you know the library had access to thousands of electronic books?! Check out a few from eBrary.
This site offers podcasts and tutorials for beginners learning French.
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.
Search for full-text articles in newspapers at home and around the world.
To access Newsbank, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Access World News Research Collection
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
Here is a list of journals the library offers that contain information about the French language.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).
Journal of Romance Studies
Promotes innovative critical work in the areas of linguistics, literature, performing and visual arts, media, material culture, intellectual and cultural history, etc.
"Informs about linguistics, the study of the structure and development of a particular language and its relationship to other languages."--EBSCOhost
Modern Language Journal
Articles on methods, pedagogical research, book reviews and topics of professional interest to all language teachers.
International Journal of Latin and Romance Linguistics
Focuses on the study of the Romance literatures and cultures.
"Lists the bibliographical data for monographs, collected volumes, articles and reviews for literary and linguistic studies with the exception of French literary studies."--Ebscohost
Second Language Research
"Promotes research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users."--EBSCOhost
The French Review
"The French Review is the official journal of the American Association of Teachers of French (AATF) and has the largest circulation of any scholarly journal of French and Francophone studies in the world."--wwu.edu
Available at Warner Library (1961-present)
Online Dictionaries & Lexicons
Library of Congress Classification: PC & PQ
For books about the French language or for French literature, visit the stacks under PC2001-3761 & PQ1-3999. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.
Map of countries where French is the official language (shaded blue).
French in Action
A video instructional series in French for college and high school classrooms and adult learners. This series uses active participation to increase fluency in French, while introducing French culture. Produced by Yale University and WGBH Boston with Wellesley College. 1987.
Click here to access the videos for free! (Make sure your browser's pop-up blocker is turned off).
French in Action
French Study Abroad Programs
Gordon In Aix
The Gordon-in-Aix program provides students with the opportunity to immerse themselves in the French language and culture.
USAC Programs - Pau, France
The Pau program offers an extraordinary opportunity to study the French language intensively, to take courses in other disciplines and to experience student life at a French university.