Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for images on a particular topic? Search our NEW image database! All images are rights-cleared when using them for educational or non-commercial purposes. Perfect for papers, reports, and presentations!
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Did you know the library had access to thousands of electronic books?! Check out a few from eBrary.
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.
Import citations from research databases
- Organize your citations in folders
- Search within them
- Create citations from scratch
- Compile bibliography/works cited
- Share your citations with other RefWorks users
Search for full-text articles in newspapers at home and around the world.
To access Newsbank, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Access World News Research Collection
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
These journals are available through different database providers.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Journal of Romance Studies
Promotes innovative critical work in the areas of linguistics, literature, performing and visual arts, media, material culture, intellectual and cultural history, etc.
"Informs about linguistics, the study of the structure and development of a particular language and its relationship to other languages."--EBSCOhost
Modern Language Journal
Articles on methods, pedagogical research, book reviews and topics of professional interest to all language teachers.
International Journal of Latin and Romance Linguistics
Focuses on the study of the Romance literatures and cultures.
Second Language Research
"Promotes research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users."--EBSCOhost
Online Dictionaries & Lexicons
Kaso English to Italian Dictionary
Hosted on EBSCOhost, this is a English to Italian dictionary.
Dizionario d'ortografia e di pronunzia
The online edition (2007) of the Dizionario d'ortografia e di pronunzia (DOP), a pronouncing dictionary of standard Italian.
Italian English dictionary, free online translation from Italian to English with Collins dictionaries
Free dictionary online: translation in English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, Russian, definitions, synonyms...
Library of Congress Classification: PC & PQ
For books about the Italian language or for Italian literature, visit the stacks under PC1001-1977 & PQ4001-5999. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.
Dictionaries & Lexicons
Cambridge dizionario italiano-inglese, inglese-italiano, Signorelli by
Call Number: REF PC1640 .R4 1985
Cassell's Italian dictionary : Italian-English, English-Italian by
Call Number: PC1640 .C33 1977
Italian Language Websites
Radio Arlecchino provides mp3 podcast lessons that illustrate specific Italian grammar points.
Learn some Italian while you watch these vintage children's cartoons from Italy.