Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for images on a particular topic? Search our NEW image database! All images are rights-cleared when using them for educational or non-commercial purposes. Perfect for papers, reports, and presentations!
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Did you know the library had access to thousands of electronic books?! Check out a few from eBrary.
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.
Import citations from research databases
- Organize your citations in folders
- Search within them
- Create citations from scratch
- Compile bibliography/works cited
- Share your citations with other RefWorks users
Search for full-text articles in newspapers at home and around the world.
To access Newsbank, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Access World News Research Collection
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
These journals are available through different database providers.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Principally covers the history of Germany & other German- speaking areas, but also covers other aspects of German life & culture which have a clear historical relevance.
Journal of Comparative Germanic Linguistics
Acts as a forum for those involved in theoretical linguistic research into the modern & older languages & dialects of the Germanic family.
"Informs about linguistics, the study of the structure and development of a particular language and its relationship to other languages."--EBSCOhost
Modern Language Journal
Articles on methods, pedagogical research, book reviews and topics of professional interest to all language teachers.
"Deals with the language & literature of German-speaking countries & with cultural matter which has literacy or linguistic significance."--Ebscohost
Second Language Research
"Promotes research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users."--EBSCOhost
Seminar: A Journal of Germanic Studies
"Propagates the scholarly and critical knowledge and understanding of Germanic Studies, meaning the study primarily of literature and culture of the German-speaking countries, and secondarily of literature and culture in other Germanic languages excluding"--Ebscohost
The German Quarterly
"Serves as a forum for all sorts of scholarly debates-topical, ideological, methodological, theoretical, of both the established and the experimental variety ..."--Germanquarterly.aatg.org
Zeitschrift für Rezensionen zur Germanistischen Sprachwissenschaft
Focuses primarily on German linguistic studies but also discusses general linguistic topics to the extent that they have a connection to German Studies.
These journals are available through different database providers and are entirely in German.
Online Dictionaries & Lexicons
Library of Congress Classification: PD & PT
For books about the German language or for German literature, visit the stacks under PD & PT. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.
Dictionaries & Lexicons
Oxford-Duden German Dictionary by
Call Number: REF PF3640 .O94 2001
Harrap's concise German and English dictionary : English-German/German-English in one volume
Call Number: REF PF3640 .H29 1982B
A video instructional series in German for college and high school classrooms and adult learners. This series uses active participation to increase fluency in German, while introducing German culture. A co-production of WGBH Boston, Inter Nationes, and the Goethe-Institut. 1999.
Click here to access the videos for free! (Make sure your browser's pop-up blocker is turned off).
German Study Abroad Programs