Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for images on a particular topic? Search our NEW image database! All images are rights-cleared when using them for educational or non-commercial purposes. Perfect for papers, reports, and presentations!
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Did you know the library had access to thousands of electronic books?! Check out a few from eBrary.
Import citations from research databases
- Organize your citations in folders
- Search within them
- Create citations from scratch
- Compile bibliography/works cited
- Share your citations with other RefWorks users
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.
Search for full-text articles in newspapers at home and around the world.
To access Newsbank, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
These journals are availble through different database providers. All of them are accessible from on-campus.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Bulletin of Hispanic Studies
"the Bulletin of Hispanic Studies is the foremost journal published in Britain devoted to the languages, literatures and civilizations of Spain, Portugal and Latin America... The journal's interests are broad-ranging and cover the linguistic areas of Spanish, Portuguese, Galician, Catalan, Basque and Amerindian."--bulletinofhispanicstudies.lupjournals.org/
Bulletin of Spanish Studies
"Devoted exclusively to the languages & literature of Spain, Portugal & Latin America."--Ebscohost
"Presenta artículos relacionados al uso del español actual. Temas incluyen estudios sobre gramática, lingüística, morfología, y otros."--Ebscohost
Hispanic Research Journal
Presents research into the cultures of the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America, from the Middle Ages to the present day.
"Contains articles written in any of the main Romance languages or English on a Spanish or Spanish American subject."--EBSCOhost
"Provides information about Ibero-Romance languages and literature of Europe and America."--Ebscohost
Journal of Iberian & Latin American Studies
Promotes research work of the highest standards, particularly in the areas of modern & contemporary literature, modern & contemporary history, cinema & linguistics.
Journal of Romance Studies
Promotes innovative critical work in the areas of linguistics, literature, performing and visual arts, media, material culture, intellectual and cultural history, etc.
Linguistica Espanola Actual
"Presenta artículos sobre diferentes aspectos de variación lingüística en la lengua."--Ebscohost
"Informs about linguistics, the study of the structure and development of a particular language and its relationship to other languages."--EBSCOhost
Modern Language Journal
Articles on methods, pedagogical research, book reviews and topics of professional interest to all language teachers.
International Journal of Latin and Romance Linguistics
Focuses on the study of the Romance literatures and cultures.
Second Language Research
"Promotes research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users."--EBSCOhost
Signos Literarios y Linguisticos
Publicación del Departamento de Filosofía de la Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana. Recibe contribuciones originales sobre literatura hispanoamericana y española, así como de lingüística teórica y aplicada.
Voz y Letra
"Una revista de investigación filológica que se dedica exclusivamente al estudio de la literatura española en sentido amplio."--Ebscohost
Online Dictionaries & Lexicons
Library of Congress Classification: PC & PQ
For books about the Spanish language or for Spanish literature, visit the stacks under PC4001-4977 & PQ6001-8929. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.
Dictionaries & Lexicons
Cassell's Spanish & English Dictionary by
Call Number: PC4640 .C35 1978
The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary by
Call Number: REF PC4640 .U5 1987
Study Abroad Programs
Latin America Studies Program (LASP)
"Through LASP students will not only expand on their knowledge of the Latin America and the language, but also submerge themselves into the culture and create relationships with the people. The students will stay with host families and become accustomed to the ways of life of the Latin American people."-- EU Language Dept.
Spanish Studies Abroad: The Center for Cross-Cultural Study
"As a pioneer in study abroad, CC-CS knows what it takes to make your experience academically, culturally, and personally rewarding. With a strong dedication to academic integrity and excellence, and an emphasis on each student’s personal growth, CC-CS had developed a reputation for the superior quality and value of our programs."-- CCCS.com
Universidad de las Américas Puebla
"UDLAP, now called the Universidad de las Americas, is located in Puebla which is one of the most dynamic urban centers in Mexico."-- EU Language Dept.
Destinos: An Introduction to Spanish
Destinos teaches speaking, listening, and comprehension skills in Spanish. This telenovela,
or Spanish soap opera, immerses students in everyday situations with
native speakers and introduces the cultures, accents, and dialects of
Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and Puerto Rico. Produced by WGBH Boston. 1992.
Click here to access the videos for free! (Make sure your browser's pop-up blocker is turned off).
Destinos: An Introduction to Spanish