LibGuides: Language Studies: Online Dictionaries, Glossaries, & more!

Reference Databases

Credo Reference contains 14 fulltext online bilingual dictionaries. From French to Spanish, and Welsh to Irish. Check it out!

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.

Library Catalog

Search Worldcat!

Try searching WorldCat to locate books & additional resources at libraries near Eastern (Cabrini College, Villanova U., Haverford College, Bryn Mawr, etc.).

Use the box below to enter your search terms.

Online Dictionaries

Acronym Finder
"With more that 590,000 human-edited definitions, this resource is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms."--College & Research Libraries News, 06/2009
Alpha Dictionary.com
"This site directs users to the 'best' multilingual dictionaries."-- College & research Libraries New, 06/2009
Logos Dictionary
"a multilingual dictionary, which has entries posted by individuals. ... translates into dozens of languages and dialects and uses icons, such as flags, to designate the country where the language is spoken."-- College & Research Libraries New, 06/2009
Verbix -- conjugate verbs in 100+ languages
A tool for conjugating verbs in many languages.
English to French, Italian, German & Spanish Dictionary - WordReference.com
The WordReference Dictionaries are free online translation dictionaries.
Dictionary and Thesaurus - Free Online at Your Dictionary
"The free dictionary search gives you definitions, thesaurus entries, spelling, pronunciation, and etymology results for your word."-- yourdictionary.com
more...less...
In addition, YourDictionary provides resources to help you find the best dictionary and translation sites for French, Spanish, Italian, German and hundreds of other languages.
WWWJDIC: Online Japanese Dictionary
A Japanese dictionary that displays the words in Japanese characters.
Tangorin.com Japanese Dictionary
Tangorin is a free online Japanese dictionary and learning tool combining words and kanji search with example sentences.

Online Translators

BabelPort
"Within its many links are a dictionary of Australian slang, German/English mathematical dictionary, a fishery glossary in multiple languages, and an English/Russian speaking picture dictionary."-- College & Research Libraries News, 06/2009
Spanish Translator Services: English - Spanish Translation Portal
"Spanish translator services is a site with free resources for English - Spanish translators."-- spanish-translator-services.com
Day Translations
This free translation online translator offers quick and accurate translations right at your fingertips. Simply type in the word or phrase that you want to translate below, and our Free Online Translator will help you out.

Gateways to Glossaries

Dictionary / Wörterbuch (BEOLINGUS, TU Chemnitz)
Search through more than 900,000 translations with examples and hints, explanations, synonyms, sayings, aphorisms, and quotations in English and German. Also features German-Spanish and Spanish-German translations.
Language Links
This site from the University of Wisconsin contains links from language types or regions to dozens of dictionaries and glossaries. Contains a Kanji dictionary (Japanese).
IATE - The EU's multilingual term base
This site features the European Commission's glossary. Find terms within politics, international relations, economics, law, or European communities in 24 source languages that are spoken in the European Union.

Language Studies: Online Dictionaries, Glossaries, & more!

Reference Databases

Library Catalog

Search Worldcat!

Online Dictionaries

Online Translators

Gateways to Glossaries

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library