Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about American Literature.
- Native American
- Colonial literature
- Dark Romanticism
- American poetry
- Depression-era literature
- War novels
- Harlem Renaissance
- Contemporary American literature
Websites relating to American Literature
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
A Research and Reference Guide (an ongoing project).
Literary Resources on the Net
"This set of pages is a collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most single electronic texts, and is limited to collections of information useful to academics"
VoS: Voice of the Shuttle
"Started in 1994 as a suite of static Web pages, VoS has now been rebuilt as a database that serves content dynamically on the Web."
Digital Libraries & Archives
Digital libraries & archives are great ways to view primary sources or full texts without having to travel anywhere. Listed below are a few digital collections of American literary greats.
Many libraries will at the very least post a collection's finding aid online. To search for these, try typing the author's name followed by "digital papers" or "collection finding aid". For example, Princeton has a large collection of F. Scott Fitzgerald's papers and writings. They are not digitized, but, you can see a list of what papers are there and discover it may be worth a trip to Princeton to see the materials in person.