Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Book Reviews
One way to narrow your search is by selecting
- "Book Review" or "Review"
as your document type.
This is particularly useful when searching in EBSCOhost.
A to Z Journal List
Find out what journals Warner Library has about your research topic! Here you can search by journal title or browse by subject.
A to Z Journal List Contains a searchable list of all the library's fulltext journal title holdings and locations.
Book Reviews: Where to find them
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about this topic.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Published by the American Library Association. (EBSCOhost)
Founded in 1933, Kirkus reviews more than 500 pre-publication books each month, including fiction, nonfiction, children's and young-adult books. (EBSCOhost & LexisNexis)
Includes book reviews; issues date back to 1976. (EBSCOhost)
London Review of Books
The archive contains every piece ever published in the magazine: over 12,000 articles by more than 2000 contributors from the past 30 years.
Magill Book Reviews
Provide summaries of classic literature as well as current best sellers with 500 new reviews added each year.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association - A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations from 1963 to the present. Contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers- EBSCOhost
New York Review of Books, The
Excerpts from the current print issue and searchable archives back to 1963. Warner Library holds 1985 to 2009 on microfich.
***Don't forget that you can RAPID ILL reviews that date later than 1985. ISSN 0028-7504
New York Times Book Review
Full text of the NYT Book Review since 1985. (EBSCOhost)
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
Full-text book review dating back to 1997 (EBSCOhost). Warner Library has book reviews in print & microform dating back to 1966.
Times Literary Supplement
The TLS Archive is a comprehensive text archive of TLS material - book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters and commentary pieces - dating from 1994 to the present day. It is updated with new articles from the paper two weeks after publication.