LibGuides: Literature: American: Find Criticisms

Literary Criticism > BOOKS

Specific criticism about an author can be found near the rest of their books on the library shelves.

For example, the call number for Mark Twain is PS1300.
Specific literary criticism about Mark Twain and his writings is located nearby with the call number PS1338.

Bloom's Biocritiques by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 0791085732
Each title features:

* Expert critical analysis by Harold Bloom
* An informative biography of the writer
* A concise chronology of the writer's life
* A complete bibliography
* And more.
Bloom's Guides by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 0791075613
This series provides comprehensive reading and study guides for some of the world's most important literary masterpieces.
Bloom's Period Studies by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 0791078973
Each book in the Bloom's Period Studies series contains

* A comprehensive view of one of the major literary movements in Western history
* A selection of critical essays on the major writers and works that defined that literary period
* A chronology of important cultural, literary, and political events that helped shape that literary period
* An introduction by Harold Bloom.
The library of literary criticism of English and American authors by edited by Charles Wells Moulton
Call Number: PR83 .M73 1966 V.1-4
Literary Movements for Students by David Galens, project editor
Call Number: OVERSIZE BOOK PN597 .L58 2002 V.1-2
ISBN: 0787665177
Publication Date: 2002-09-18

"A survey of the main trends in twentieth-century literary theory." Lecture provided by Paul H. Fry, Yale Professor.

The first lecture is shown below. To view any of the additional 24 lectures, click here

Try performing a search using your topic and the subject term "LITERATURE -- History & criticism."

Example: "Ernest Hemingway" [keyword]

AND [connector term]

"LITERATURE -- History & criticism" [subject term]

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost

American Literary Realism
"For forty years, American Literary Realism has brought readers critical essays on American literature from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries... including Henry James, Edith Wharton, Mark Twain, and many others... Each issue is also a valuable bibliographic resource." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
American Literature
Features articles dealing with American literature, writers and poets, book reviews and lists of recently published books dealing with literary criticism.
Diacritics
For over thirty years, diacritics has been an exceptional and influential forum for scholars writing on the problems of literary criticism. Each issue features articles in which contributors compare and analyze books on particular theoretical works and develop their own positions on the theses, methods, and theoretical implications of those works.
more...less...
JOURNAL

Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
"A collection of bibliographic references to literary, scholarly and creative journals, containing over 1,000 journals from 1975 to the present published in the United States and Canada."--EBSCOhost
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association - A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations from 1963 to the present. Contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers- EBSCOhost

American Literature Sites
Site hosted by Washington State University. Features links to sites about American Authors, a timeline, literary movements, and other American Literature sites.
Literary History
"LiteraryHistory.com catalogs credible literary criticism on nineteenth and twentieth century English and American literature that is available on the free internet."
Literary Resources on the Net
"This set of pages is a collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most single electronic texts, and is limited to collections of information useful to academics"
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
A Research and Reference Guide (an ongoing project).