Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about this topic.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
American Letters & Commentary
Innovative, challenging work in all genres, including poetry, fiction, flash fiction, creative non-fiction and more.
American Literary Realism
"For forty years, American Literary Realism has brought readers critical essays on American literature from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries... including Henry James, Edith Wharton, Mark Twain, and many others... Each issue is also a valuable bibliographic resource." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
American Literary Scholarship
"Now sold as an annual journal, American Literary Scholarship covers current critical analysis of American literature. Bibliographic essays are arranged by writers and time periods, from pre-1800 to the present. Among the writers discussed are Emerson, Hawthorne, Poe, Melville, Whitman, Twain, James, Pound, and Faulkner." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Features articles dealing with American literature, writers and poets, book reviews and lists of recently published books dealing with literary criticism.
American Poetry Review
"Contemporary poetry, fiction, social commentary, opinion, translations and reviews for a general audience."--EBSCOhost
American Transcendental Quarterly
A journal of 19th century American literature and culture. Studies of literary works and authors, non-technical articles on other aspects of 19th century American culture and society and specific theme issues.
ANQ: A Quarterly Journal of Short Articles, Notes, and Reviews
"Factual articles and notes based on new research in American and English language and literature; queries related to research, review essays, reviews and book notices."
Arizona Quarterly: A Journal of American Literature, Culture, and Theory
Publishes articles offering a variety of scholarly approaches to canonical and non-canonical works of American literature and film. REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Christianity and Literature
Devoted to the scholarly exploration of how literature engages Christian thought, experience, & practice.
Comparative Literature Studies
Publishes comparative articles in literature and culture, critical theory, and cultural and literary relations within and beyond the Western tradition. It brings you the work of eminent critics, scholars, theorists, and literary historians, whose essays range across the rich traditions of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.
Early American Literature
Articles and reviews on American literature through the early national period, about 1830, for members of the Modern Language Association.
ESQ: A Journal of the American Renaissance
"Journal of the American Renaissance is devoted to the study of nineteenth-century American literature." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Covers scholarly criticism of William Faulkner.
Articles, notes and book reviews pertaining to the life and work of Ernest Hemingway; all critical approaches welcome.
Henry James Review, The
The Henry James Review brings together the best contemporary scholarly, critical, and theoretical work on a major American writer. The journal publishes critical essays and reviews by new as well as established critics of James. Recent issues have included "James and the Sacred" and "Jamesian Arts." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers
Legacy is the official journal of the Society for the Study of American Women Writers. It focuses specifically on American women's writings from the seventeenth through the mid-twentieth century. Issue articles cover: examinations of the works of individual authors; genre studies; analysis of race, ethnicity, gender, class, and sexualities in women's literature; and historical and material cultural issues pertinent to women's lives and literary. REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Mark Twain Circular
"News of Mark Twain events & scholarship, directories of members, short biographical articles & critical commentaries, & current bibliography."--EBSCOhost
New Literary History
New Literary History focuses on questions of theory, method, interpretation, and literary history. Rather than espousing a single ideology or intellectual framework, it canvasses a wide range of scholarly concerns. REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Papers on Language & Literature
Articles, notes and book reviews on literary history, theory and interpretation and original material such as letters, journals and notebooks aimed at scholars and critics of language and literature.
Pennsylvania Literary Journal
"Publishing essays and poetry aiming to making a positive contribution to literary criticism and the arts."--EBSCOhost
Southern Literary Journal
Essays, literary criticism and reviews on all aspects of the American South.
Studies in American Indian Literatures
"the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literature." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Thomas Wolfe Review
"Covers all aspects of Wolfe's career, criticism, bibliography, biography, & in general, news of interest to readers & students of Wolfe."--EBSCOhost
Walt Whitman Quarterly Review
"Walt Whitman Quarterly Review publishes essays about Whitman, his influence, his cultural contexts, his life, and his work. WWQR also publishes newly discovered Whitman manuscripts, and we publish shorter notes dealing with significant discoveries related to Whitman. Major critical works about Whitman are reviewed in virtually every issue, and Ed Folsom maintains an up-to-date and annotated "Current Bibliography" of work about Whitman, published in each issue."--WWQR
Western American Literature
"Devoted to groundbreaking critical essays on the literature, culture, landscape, and art of the American West, the journal publishes New Western and postwestern literary criticism on such contemporary western writers as Ishmael Reed, Louis Owens, Sandra Cisneros, Cormac McCarthy, Rudolfo Anaya, Sherman Alexie, and Linda Hogan, as well as on traditional western writers such as Mary Austin, Gary Snyder, Mark Twain, Willa Cather, and others." REQUEST ARTICLES THROUGH RAPID ILL
Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about American Literature.
- Native American
- Colonial literature
- Dark Romanticism
- American poetry
- Depression-era literature
- War novels
- Harlem Renaissance
- Contemporary American literature
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.