Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress Classification: PS
American Literature books start with the call number PS. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.
Here is a list of some American authors and their corresponding Library of Congress call numbers. You can find books about them and/or authored by them in the stacks.
|Bierce, Ambrose - PS1097
||Melville, Herman - PS2380-2388
|Dickinson, Emily - PS1541
||Michener, James - PS3525.I19
|Eliot, T.S. - PS3509 .L43
||Plath, Sylvia - PS3566 .L27
|Emerson, Ralph Waldo - PS1600-1648
||Poe, Edgar Allen - PS2600-2648
|Faulkner, William - PS3511 .A86
||Steinbeck, John - PS3537 .T3234
|Fitzgerald, F. Scott - PS3511 .I9
||Sinclair, Upton - PS3537 .I85
|Frost, Robert - PS3511 .R94
||Thoreau, Henry David - PS3040-3058
|Hawthorne, Nathaniel - PS1850-1898
||Twain, Mark - PS1300-1348
|Hemingway, Ernest - PS3515 .E37
||Updike, John - PS3571 .P4
|Hughes, Langston - PS3515 .U274
||Vonnegut, Kurt - PS3572 .O5
|James, Henry - PS2110-2128
||Wharton, Edith - PS3545.H16
|Lewis, Sinclair - PS3523.E94
||Whitman, Walt - PS3200-3248
|Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth - PS2250-2298
||Williams, Tennessee - PS3545 .I5365
Warner has access to a number of electronic book databases! The following links take you to them where you can search on a topic of your choice.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1, 13th Century-1893
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 is an archive of religious and theological literature from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2, 1894-1922
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 is an archive of religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922. It showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western religions.
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
eBook collection in EBSCOhost
Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.
Ebrary (now called Ebook Central)
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
"A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. "--gale.com
History Reference Center
"The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video."--EBSCOhost
This database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.