Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources in Philly
Primary Resources in Philadelphia
A key to conducting major research is to visit local archival &
historical repositories. This gives you the opportunity to view
important literary and historical documents first hand. By attending
Eastern, you have some amazing repositories easily within your reach.
Listed below are links to local museums, historic libraries, and
archives that store and preserve historical documents. Often times
these places are more than happy to assist you in your research. All it
usually takes is a phone call to setup an appointment!
Free Library of Phila. - Special Collections
Special Collections enhance the educational mission of the Free Library by assembling and making accessible historic materials, providing reliable and knowledgeable research services, and offering instructional programs that promote understanding of our shared cultural heritage. Many items in Special Collections are searchable in the public catalog, through Finding Aids, or in our Digital Collections. Please contact the collections for further details.
Haverford College: Special Collections
The collection includes the papers of several families and individuals, approximately 4,000 rare books, as well as numerous historical maps and newspapers.
Rare Book & Manuscript Library at U. of Pennsylvania
Great collection of Medieval & Renaissance manuscripts and printed books. Also includes the Furness Shakespeare Library.
Rosenbach Museum & Library - Research Services & Hours
The Rosenbach preserves a nearly unparalleled rare book and manuscript collection, with particular strength in American and British literature and history.
Special Collections | Bryn Mawr College Library
The library holds papers, letters and manuscripts of 19 & 20th century writers: Katherine Sergeant White, long-time editor of the New Yorker, British poet Ralph Hodgson; papers and drawings of British illustrator Claud Lovat Fraser, Christina Rossetti, Laurence Housman, A.E. Housman, Marianne Moore, John Keats and other British and American writers.
PACSCL- Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries
"The collections of PACSCL member libraries include a total of more than 4,000,000 rare books, 260,000 linear feet of manuscripts and archival materials, and 9,000,000 photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and works of art on paper."--pacscl.org
Digital libraries & archives are great ways to view primary
sources or full texts without having to travel anywhere. Listed below
are a few digital collections of English literary greats.