LibGuides: Literature: British: Find Books

Library of Congress Classification: PR

Library of Congress Classification for English Literature

English Literature books start with the call number PR. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.

Try Google Books

Specific Authors

Here is a list of some English authors and their corresponding Library of Congress call numbers. You can find books about them and/or authored by them in the stacks.

Austen, Jane - PR4030-4038	Lewis, C.S. - PR6023 .E926
Blake, William - PR4140-4148	Marlowe, Christopher - PR2660-PR2678
Bronte, Emily - PR4172-4173	Milton, John - PR3550-3598
Browning, Elizabeth Barrett - PR4180-4198	Orwell, George - PR6029.R8
Burns, Robert - PR4300-PR4348	Pope, Alexander - PR3620-PR3638
Byron, George Gordon (Lord) - PR4350-4398	Shakespeare, William - PR2750-PR3112
Chaucer, Geoffery - PR1850-PR1954	Shelley, Mary - PR5397-5398
Coleridge, Samuel Taylor - PR4470-4488	Shelley, Percy Bysshe - PR5400-5448
Dickens, Charles - PR4550-4598	Stoker, Bram - PR6037.T617
Forster, E.M. - PR6011 .O58	Tennyson, Alfred Lord - PR5550-5598
Jonson, Ben - PR2600-PR2648	Thackeray, William Makepeace - PR5600-PR648
Joyce, James - PR6019.O9-PR6019.O9U425	Wilde, Oscar - PR5810-PR5828
Keats, John - PR4830-4838	Woolf, Virgina - PS3545 .I5365
Kipling, Rudyard - PR4850-4858	Wordsworth, William - PR5850-PR5898
Lawrence, D.H. - PR6023.A93	Yeats, William Butler - PR5900.A1-PR5908.S8

Research Books

A Dictionary of Literature in the English Language by Robin Myers
Call Number: PR19 .M84 V.1-2

ISBN: 0080120792

Publication Date: 1978-01-01
A guide to English literature by F. W. Bateson
Call Number: PR21 .B32
Crowell's Handbook of Elizabethan and Stuart Literature by James E. Ruoff
Call Number: PR19 .R8 1975

ISBN: 0690226616

Publication Date: 1975-06-01
Reference Works in British and American Literature by James K. Bracken
Call Number: Ebsco ebook

ISBN: 9780585038070

Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The critical temper; a survey of modern criticism on English and American literature from the beginnings to the twentieth century by Martin Tucker
Call Number: PR83 .C764 V.1-3
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Margaret Drabble (Editor)
Call Number: PR19 .D73 1985

ISBN: 0198661304

Publication Date: 1985-05-16
Devolving English literature by Robert Crawford
Call Number: PR21 .C7 1992

ISBN: 074861429X
No island is an island: four glances at English literature in a world perspective by Carlo Ginzburg
Call Number: PR99 .G516 2000

ISBN: 0231116284
The art of literary research by Richard D. Altick
Call Number: PR56 .A68 1981

ISBN: 0393962407
Women and literature in Britain, 1500-1700 by edited by Helen Wilcox
Call Number: PR113 .W65 1996

ISBN: 0521467772
An Arthurian Dictionary by Charles Moorman; Ruth Moorman; Geoffrey Ashe (Introduction by)
Call Number: PN685 .M6

ISBN: 0878050841

Publication Date: 1978-10-01

E-Books

Warner has access to a number of electronic book databases! The following links take you to them where you can search on a topic of your choice.

Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1, 13th Century-1893
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 is an archive of religious and theological literature from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2, 1894-1922
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 is an archive of religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922. It showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western religions.
Credo Reference
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
eBook collection in EBSCOhost
Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.
Ebook Central
An ebook database from Proquest with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
History Reference Center
"The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video."--EBSCOhost
PsycBooks
This database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Hosted within Oxford Academic, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform. Check off the "Purchased" filter on the left of the results screen to see all of the titles Eastern has access to in OSO's catalog.
JSTOR
Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues from over 2,500 titles.
SAGE Knowledge
Hosting thousands of titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content - including scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks - making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

Note: The only sections available for EU students are "Academic Books," "CQ Press Books," "Reference," and "Navigator."

Literature: British: Find Books

British Literature

Library of Congress Classification: PR

Try Google Books

Specific Authors

Research Books

E-Books

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library