LibGuides: COM304: Family Communication Resources: Parenting Issues

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about parenting issues.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Academic Search Complete
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
Ebook Central
An ebook database from Proquest with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
ProQuest
Contains Dissertations & Theses, Ethnic News Watch, Gender Watch, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Sociology full-text databases and more.
PsycInfo
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.

Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: LGBT Parenting
The ACLU is committed to defending the rights of LGBT parents, not only in custody and visitation arrangements but also by challenging discriminatory laws that restrict the rights of LGBT people to parent.
Children's Advocacy Institute
CAI represents the interests and rights of children and youth in impact litigation, legislative and regulatory advocacy, research and public education projects, and public service programs.
Focus on the Family
For more than 30 years, Focus on the Family has provided families in need with biblically based parenting advice, help for hurting marriages and the good news about God's unfailing love.
Foster Parent Advocacy Foundation Inc
Foster Parent Advocacy Foundation Inc is a community based service organization helping foster parents and children in foster care improve the quality of life by providing advocates,educational workshops,and resources.
Gay Parent Magazine
Gay Parent magazine (GPM) features personal stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) parents from across the country and around the world.
National Council For Adoption
The National Council For Adoption (NCFA) is an adoption advocacy nonprofit that promotes a culture of adoption through education, research, and legislative action.
National Partnership for Women and Families
Promotes fairness in the workplace, quality health care, and policies that help women and men meet the dual demands of work and family.
The Children's Advocacy Project
The Children's Advocacy Project (CAP4Kids) was developed to help bridge the gap between quality social service agencies in various locales and the families that need their help the most.
National Parents Organization
"National Parents Organization,a charitable and educational,501 (c)(3), organization, is focused on promoting shared parenting, where both parents have equal standing raising children after a separation or divorce."--About NPO