Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about parenting issues.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains Dissertations & Theses, Ethnic News Watch, Gender Watch, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Sociology full-text databases and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
Child Welfare League of America
CWLA is a powerful coalition of hundreds of private and public agencies serving vulnerable children and families since 1920.
The Children's Advocacy Project
The Children's Advocacy Project (CAP4Kids) was developed to help bridge the gap between quality social service agencies in various locales and the families that need their help the most.
National Partnership for Women and Families
Promotes fairness in the workplace, quality health care, and policies that help women and men meet the dual demands of work and family.
Children's Advocacy Institute
CAI represents the interests and rights of children and youth in impact litigation, legislative and regulatory advocacy, research and public education projects, and public service programs.
Foster Parent Advocacy Foundation Inc
Foster Parent Advocacy Foundation Inc is a community based service organization helping foster parents and children in foster care improve the quality of life by providing advocates,educational workshops,and resources.
MDRC is best known for mounting large-scale evaluations of real-world policies and programs targeted to low-income people.
Child & Family Policy Center
The Child and Family Policy site offers research on public policy issues relevant to children and family structure and offers resources for family support and strengthening. The main focus of the research is on developing a more asset based and comprehensive means to promote the success of children.
Fragile Families and the Reproduction of Poverty
Paper arguing that non-marital childbearing and marital dissolution are now a class-based phenomena. Research data indicates that unmarried parents come from much more disadvantaged populations than married parents. Furthermore, non-marital childbearing reproduces class and racial disparities through its association with partnership instability and multi-partnered fertility.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Child Welfare Information Gateway connects child welfare and related professionals to comprehensive information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).