LibGuides: COM304: Family Communication Resources: Marriage & Divorce

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about marriage & divorce.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Academic Search Complete
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
Ebook Central
An ebook database from Proquest with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
ProQuest
Contains Dissertations & Theses, Ethnic News Watch, Gender Watch, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Sociology full-text databases and more.
PsycInfo
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.

Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: LGBT Relationships
Since the first marriage lawsuit for same-sex couples in 1972, the ACLU has been at the forefront of both legal and public education efforts to secure marriage for same-sex couples and win legal recognition for LGBT relationships.
National Organization for Marriage
The National Organization for Marriage (NOM) is a nonprofit organization with a mission to protect marriage and the faith communities that sustain it.
Freedom to Marry
Freedom to Marry is the campaign to win marriage nationwide.
The Center Advocacy Project
The Center Advocacy Project is a non-partisan, 501 C4 organization whose mission is to secure equal civil and human rights for the LGBT and allied communities through public education and issue advocacy.
Focus on the Family
For more than 30 years, Focus on the Family has provided families in need with biblically based parenting advice, help for hurting marriages and the good news about God's unfailing love.
The Ruth Institute
The Ruth Institute is a nonprofit, educational organization promoting lifelong married love to the young, by creating an intellectual and social climate favorable to them.
National Parents Organization
"National Parents Organization,a charitable and educational,501 (c)(3), organization, is focused on promoting shared parenting, where both parents have equal standing raising children after a separation or divorce."--About NPO
H.R. 3396 [104th]: Defense of Marriage Act