LibGuides: COM304: Family Communication Resources: Childbirth & Pregnancy

Abortion: Court Case

Pivotal 1970s court case that legalized abortions in America.

Roe v. Wade

Books

To access some of these books, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).

Test Tube Families: Why the Fertility Market Needs Legal Regulation by Naomi R. Cahn
ISBN: 0814716822
Publication Date: 2009
Pregnancy and Power: A Short History of Reproductive Politics in America by Rickie Solinger
ISBN: 0814798284
Publication Date: 2005

Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: Reproductive Freedom
The ACLU works to secure a world that respects everyone’s right to form intimate relationships and to decide whether and when to have children. With reproductive freedom comes opportunity: opportunity to build a secure, productive, and meaningful life. Through litigation, advocacy, and public education, we strive to ensure that the government respects and supports reproductive freedom.
American Pregnancy Association
The American Pregnancy Association is a national health organization committed to promoting reproductive and pregnancy wellness through education, research, advocacy, and community awareness.
Americans United for Life
the first national pro-life organization in the United States, Americans United for Life (AUL) is a nonprofit, public-interest law and policy organization whose vision is a nation in which everyone is welcomed in life and protected in law.
Center for Reproductive Rights
The Center for Reproductive Rights has used the law to advance reproductive freedom as a fundamental human right that all governments are legally obligated to protect, respect, and fulfill.
Democrats For Life of America
The preeminent national organization for pro-life Democrats.
NARAL Pro-Choice America
National organization advocating for and providing comprehensive information on reproductive rights in the U.S. Numerous local affiliates.
National Partnership for Women and Families
Promotes fairness in the workplace, quality health care, and policies that help women and men meet the dual demands of work and family.
Political Advocacy Groups: Abortion & Reproduction
Great list of advocacy groups/lobbyists on abortion & reproduction
Pro-Life Alliance of Gays and Lesbians
PLAGAL strives to promote a respect for life within the gay community and encourage gay and lesbian participation in the pro-life cause.
Susan B. Anthony List
The SBA List emphasize the election, education, promotion, and mobilization of pro-life women.
The Pregnancy Discrimination Act: Where we stand 30 years later
Article by the National Partnership for Women & Families

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about childbirth & pregnancy.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

COM304: Family Communication Resources: Childbirth & Pregnancy

Abortion: Court Case

Books

Websites

Databases

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library