Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The English Department
To learn more about the English program here at Eastern, click on the links below.
Reference databases provide contextual information about all
"a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips."
Contains electronic version of Britannica's encyclopedias, plus web periodicals, websites and other information.
Welcome to the Journalism Guide!
Welcome to the Journalism Guide. Here you will find general information on how to locate sources related to journalism.
How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are different resources- books, journals, websites, etc. Click on a tab and a page appears listing specific resources about journalism in that format. For example, under the "Find Books & Films" tab is a list of books located here in Warner Library about the journalism trade.
Read Eastern's Newspaper!
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about this topic.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Database includes content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
A collection of over 1,000 of the highly regarded Sage Journals, covering a variety of disciplines.
New York Times
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, cars & more.
SET UP YOUR FREE ACCOUNT BY GOING TO: http://libguides.eastern.edu/nyt
New York Times Archive: TimesMachine
Browse issues in the archives of the New York Times from 1851-1980.
Visit http://libguides.eastern.edu/nytaccess to learn about setting up your account.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.