Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The world’s preeminent destination for movie criticism, commentary and community."--rogerebert.com
Web Resources for Film Studies
Listed below are some of the best web resources available on Film Studies.
All things movie/film related. Visit to find information on actors, directors, films, and reviews.
American Film Institute
The American Film Institute was founded in 1967 as a national arts organization to train filmmakers and preserve America's vanishing film heritage. Visit to watch old movie clips, find lists of Oscar winners, or search their comprehensive filmographic database.
The highlight of our Early Cinema collection is the 1907 to 1927 run of the Moving Picture World, one of the earliest trade papers of the motion picture industry.
Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
International salon-journal for philosophical discussion of cinema. Includes in-depth resources for cineastes and film scholars.
FilmSound.org: dedicated to the Art of Film Sound Design & Film Sound Theory
If you are interested in film sound, then make sure to visit this site. It offers a glossary of technical sound terms, links to articles, and interviews with sound designers.
History on/and/in Film
Simple site offering papers from conferences and scholarly articles on a wide range of film topics.
Motion Picture and Television Reading Room : Library of Congress
Offers access to old films and authors the national Film Registry preservation list.
Based in Montréal, Offscreen is a wide-ranging film journal that covers film festivals, retrospectives, film forums, and both popular and more academic events.
ScreenSite facilitates the teaching and research of film/TV/new media and is designed principally for educators and students.
Society for Cinema & Media Studies
Founded in 1959, SCMS is a professional organization of college and university educators, filmmakers, historians, critics, scholars, and others devoted to the study of the moving image.
The Criterion Collection
Know for their award-winning, original film supplements, the Criterion Collection site offers streaming video of classic films as well as what's happening in international art cinema.
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
IMDb is a major database of movies, TV shows, and actors and actresses, with details on virtually every movie and TV series.
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.