Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A to Z Journal List
Find out what journals Warner Library has about your research topic! Here you can search by journal title or browse by subject.
A to Z Journal List Contains a searchable list of all the library's fulltext journal title holdings and locations.
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.
Refworks with Login link and How to use it
Import citations from research databases
- Organize your citations in folders
- Search within them
- Create citations from scratch
- Compile bibliography/works cited
- Share your citations with other RefWorks users
Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about Film Studies.
- Apparatus theory
- Auteur theory
- Feminist film theory
- Formalist film theory
- Marxist film theory
- Philosophy of language film analysis
- Psychoanalytical film theory
- Screen theory
- Structuralist film theory
- Germaine Dulac
- Louis Delluc
- Jean Epstein
- Sergei Eisenstein
- Lev Kuleshov
- Dziga Vertov
- Paul Rotha
- Rudolf Arnheim
- Béla Balázs
- Siegfried Kracauer
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about this topic. These journals are availble mostly through EBSCOhost's OmniFile Full Text Select.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).
Academic Search Complete 1997 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
"Provides innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, & visual media. Includes debates, essays, interviews, & summary pieces which encompass a wide spectrum of media practices."--Ebscohost
Academic Search Complete 1990 to present
"Presents reviews of and essays about international films."--Ebscohost
Academic Search Complete 1996 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
"Publishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from diverse methodological perspectives."--Ebscohost
Continuum: Journal of Media & Cultural Studies
Communication & Mass Media Complete 1998 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
"Covers the history & practice of screen media in Australasia & Asia in the connection between such as film, TV, publishing, visual arts, & exhibitionary sites."--Ebscohost
Academic Search Complete 2002 to present
"Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews."--Ebscohost
Academic Search Complete: 1976 to present
"Writing from a new generation of film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives."--Ebscohost
Communication & Mass Media Complete 1992 - 1996
"Reprinted articles, film reviews and lists of books received on all aspects of the American independent motion picture."
Communication & Mass Media Complete: 1987 to present
Warner Memorial Library: 1972 - 2001
International salon-journal for philosophical discussion of cinema. Includes in-depth resources for cineastes and film scholars.
Films in Review
Academic Search Complete 1990 - 1996
"Feature articles on every aspect of films, old and new, profiles of actors from past and present, photographs and motion picture reviews published by the National Board of Review of Motion Pictures Inc."--Ebscohost
Historical Journal of Film, Radio & Television
Communication & Mass Media Complete 1990 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
"An interdisciplinary journal of research, scholarly articles, book reviews and archival reports concerned with the evidence produced by the mass media for historians and social scientists, and with the impact of mass communications on history."--Ebscohost
Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media
Academic Search Complete 1985 to present
"Articles, reviews and criticism on all aspects of broadcasting and electronic media."--Ebscohost
Journal of Film and Video
Communication & Mass Media Complete: 2000 to present
ISSN: 0742-4671 Online ISSN: 1934-6018
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Communication & Mass Media Complete: 1990 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
ISSN: 0195-6051; Online ISSN: 1930-6458
Journal of Religion and Film
FreeFullText.com: 1997 to present
Literature Film Quarterly
Communication & Mass Media Complete: 1973 to present
Based in Montréal, Offscreen is a wide-ranging film journal that covers film festivals, retrospectives, film forums, and both popular and more academic events.
"Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham."--from their website
Scope: an on-line journal of film studies
FreeFullText.com: 1999 to present
Academic Search Complete 2008 to present
"Publishes articles on the study of the soundtrack as a unified and coherent entity of aural and visual elements."--Ebscohost
Business Source Premier 2001 to present
"Features news and coverage of important issues concerning the production community."--Ebscohost
"Wide Screen is a peer-reviewed, open access journal. It is devoted to the critical study of cinema from historical, theoretical, political, and aesthetic perspectives."--from their website
"Film-Philosophy is an international peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to philosophically discussing film studies, aesthetics and world cinema."--from their website