Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film & Media Studies: Reference Sources

A subject guide for those researching topics in film & media studies.

Bibliographies & Filmographies

Bibliographies vs. Filmographies: What's the difference?

Bibliographies feature lists of books & other resources on a particular topic, like film genres, directors, film styles, etc.

Filmographies offer lists of films on a particular topic, but do not include resources about those films. They are simply lists of films arranged by subject matter.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Similar to guides & film companions, dictionaries & encyclopedias are types of resources best used to build background knowledge on a topic.

Research Guides

Research Guides

Research guides will point you in the right direction as you begin your scholarly research. Film and Television: A Guide to Reference Literature is a wonderful, in-depth resource that lists indexes, bibliographies, filmographies, and additional reference sources about film topics. If you find a book listed here, you can always use EZ Borrow to request it.

Guides & Companions to Film

Guides & Film Companions

These resources provide a brief overview on a particular topic, in this case, film. They are good to use when trying to build background knowledge, but not the best resource when looking for scholar publications.