LibGuides: Ancient Greece: Find Books & Films

Library Catalog

E-Books

Warner has access to a number of electronic book databases! The following links take you to them where you can search on a topic of your choice.

Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1, 13th Century-1893 This link opens in a new window
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 is an archive of religious and theological literature from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2, 1894-1922 This link opens in a new window
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 is an archive of religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922. It showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western religions.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
eBook collection in EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
"The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video."--EBSCOhost
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Hosted within Oxford Academic, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform. Check off the "Purchased" filter on the left of the results screen to see all of the titles Eastern has access to in OSO's catalog.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues from over 2,500 titles.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hosting thousands of titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content - including scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks - making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

Note: The only sections available for EU students are "Academic Books," "CQ Press Books," "Reference," and "Navigator."

Search Worldcat!

Try searching WorldCat to locate books & additional resources at libraries near Eastern (Cabrini College, Villanova U., Haverford College, Bryn Mawr, etc.).

Use the box below to enter your search terms.

Find Books

A brief list of books about Greek studies located in the library. To find further resources, try searching the library's catalog.

For additional books, click here

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by Rachel Kitzinger (Editor); Michael Grant (Editor)
Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988 V.1-3
ISBN: 0684175940
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A three-volume reference work of 97 original essays on the people, customs, government, religion, and arts of the ancient world, from 2000 B.C. to the fall of Rome in A.D.476. Structured to present a comparative rather than chronological study of Greek and Roman institutions and life. The essays are
A Traveller's History of Greece by Timothy Boatswain and Colin Nicolson
Call Number: DF757.B63
ISBN: 1566565227
Provides an authoritative general history of Greece from its earliest beginning down to the present day.
Greek Thought: A Guide to Classical Knowledge by Jacques Brunschwig and Geoffrey E.R. Lloyd
Call Number: DF78.S2813
ISBN: 067400261X
Editors Brunschwig and Lloyd have compiled a collection of more than 60 essays that takes an untraditional approach to the study of Greek thought. Rather than analyzing Greek philosophy, politics, and science and discussing their influence on contemporary Western society, the authors have instead chosen to look at how the ancient Greeks perceived themselves and the world around them as well as how they reacted to that world.
The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology by Don Nardo (Editor)
Call Number: BL725.G74
ISBN: 0737707194
Publication Date: 2002-01-31
The timeless heroes, gods, and stories of the ancient Greek and Roman myths have become an integral and indispensable part of the fabric of Western civilization, pervading its folklore, literature, art, and music in innumerable ways; and they remain vibrantly alive to fascinate each new generation. Classical historian Don Nardo has compiled the most comprehensive overview of classical mythology presently available for young readers.
Ancient Writers by T. James Luce (Editor)
Call Number: PA3002 .A5 1982 v.1-2
ISBN: 0684165953
Publication Date: 1982-09-01
This two-volume survey of Western literature in the classical period contains 47 chronologically arranged essays.
Living in Ancient Greece by Don Nardo
Call Number: DF78.L49
ISBN: 0737714549
This title examines the social aspects of life, such as education, slavery, medicine, and the arts, highlighting how the citizens' sense of responsibility and pride resulted in the success of the city-state.
Ancient Greek Religion by Jon D. Mikalson
Call Number: BL783 .M55 2005
ISBN: 0631232222
Publication Date: 2004-08-02
Ancient Greek Religion provides an introduction to the fundamental beliefs and practices and the major deities of Greek religion. Accessible introduction to Greek religion. Focuses on Athens in the classical period. Includes detailed discussion of Greek gods and heroes, myth and cult. Includes vivid descriptions of Greek religion as it was practiced. Ancient texts are presented in boxes to promote thought and discussion. Abundant illustrations help readers visualize the rich and varied religious life of ancient Greece.

Films & Videos

You can find these films on the Upper Level of Warner Library.

Alexander the Great by Santuary Records Group Ltd.
Call Number: DF234.A44 2006
Troy: For Love and War by Sanctuary Records Group Ltd.
Call Number: DF221.T8 T76 2006
Empires: The Greeks by PBS Home Video
Call Number: DF77.G74 1999
Gods and Goddesses by The History Channel
Call Number: BL783.G63 2006
Last Stand of the 300 by The History Channel
Call Number: DF225.5.L37 2007
Great Courses: Classical archaeology of ancient Greece and Rome by John R. Hale
Call Number: DVD HIST WORLD HAL CLA Discs 1-6

Library of Congress Classification: DE & DF

Books about Greece & the Greco-Roman world are located in the stacks under DE & DF. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.

Library of Congress Classification for Greece & the Greco-Roman world

Search Terms

Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about Greece.

"Ancient Greece"
"Greece" or "Greeks"
"Alexander the Great"
"Hellenic Republic"
"Classical Period"
"Archaic Period"
Herodotus
Thucydides
Aristotle
Plato
"Athenians" or Athens
Sparta
Corinth
Thebes
"Greco-Persian Wars"
"Peloponnesian War"

Ancient Greece: Find Books & Films

Ancient Greece

Library Catalog

E-Books

Search Worldcat!

Find Books

Films & Videos

Library of Congress Classification: DE & DF

Search Terms

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library