Latin Texts & Authors
Research Strategies & InsightsSearching "How-to" VideosWeb Searching TipsObtaining Research
This is the "Home" page of the "Ancient Rome" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient Rome   Tags: classical_studies, latin, mediterranean, roman, rome, scholarship  

A specific subject guide about Roman classical studies
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.eastern.edu/ancient_rome Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

History Department at EU

Free Audiobook

A pivotal text for ancient Rome scholars, you can now download and listen to Edward Gibbon's The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire for for free! Click on the link below.

Images

St. Peter's Basilica

Looking for images related to Rome? Try searching our Image Quest database. It features over 2 million images that are rights-cleared for educational & non-commerical use in your papars and presentations.

 

More Guides!

 

Welcome to the Ancient Rome Guide!

Welcome to the Rome Classical Studies Guide. Here you will find information on how to locate sources relating to ancient Rome and it's empire. For general resources about classical studies, please take a look at the Classical Studies (General) subject guides here in LibGuides.

How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are different resources- books, journals, websites, etc. Click on a tab and a page appears listing specific resources about ancient Rome. For example, under the "Find Books" tab is a list of books located here in Warner Library about the Roman empire. For specific resources on the Greek empire, please check out this guide.

Overview of Ancient Rome

Want to know more about Rome- past or present? Take a look at these general articles about the Eternal City.

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about Ancient Rome.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Blackboard and Eastern email logins).

    • Academic Search Complete
      "More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
      Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals- FirstSearch
    • Image Quest
      Image Quest features over 2 million images that are rights-cleared for educational & non-commerical use in your papars and presentations.
    • JSTOR
      Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues.
    • World History Collection  
        
      "Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals."--EBSCOhost

    Your Librarian

    Profile Image
    Andrea Reed
    Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    Media & Digital Services Librarian
    Rm. 302 -- Upper Level
    Warner Memorial Library
    Eastern University
    St. Davids, PA 19087

    (610) 225-5004
    Send Email
    Become a fan of Warner Library!:

    Facebook

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip