LibGuides: Ancient Rome: Find Books & Films

Library Catalog

Search Worldcat!

Try searching WorldCat to locate books & additional resources at libraries near Eastern (Cabrini College, Villanova U., Haverford College, Bryn Mawr, etc.).

Use the box below to enter your search terms.

Search Terms

Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about Rome.

"Ancient Rome"
"Rome" or "Romans"
"Eternal City"
"Roman Republic"
"Democracy"
"Etruscans"
"Romulus"
"Remus"
"Tiber River"
"Roman Forum"
"Colosseum"
"Plebs" or "Plebeian"
"Roman Empire"

Find Books

A brief list of books about Roman studies located in the library. To find further resources, try searching the library's catalog.

For additional books, click here

Human Rights in Ancient Rome by Richard Bauman
Call Number: EBRARY E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780203012444
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
The concept of human rights has a long history. Its practical origins, as distinct from its theoretical antecedents, are said to be comparatively recent, going back no further than the American and French Bills of Rights of the eighteenth century. Even those landmarks are seen as little more than the precursors of the twentieth century starting-point - the Universal Declaration of Human Rights which was adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations in 1948. In this unique and stimulating book, Richard Bauman investigates the concept of human rights in the Roman world. He argues that on the theoretical side, ideas were developed by thinkers such as Cicero and Seneca and on the pragmatic side, practical applications were rewarded mainly through the law. He presents a comprehensive analysis of human rights in ancient Rome and offers enlightening comparisons between the Roman and twentieth century understanding of human rights.
Life and Leisure in Ancient Rome by John P. Balsdon
Call Number: DG90 .B25 2002
ISBN: 1842125931
Publication Date: 2002-05-01
How did average Romans live out each year, conduct their family life, rear and educate their children? What about slaves in the household? How did people enjoy themselves--did they travel or go to the theater? And, how were those famed gladiators trained? From a wide variety of sources--writers, inscriptions, papyri, mosaics, stones, even graffiti--the answers to these question come into sharp relief. "By far the best single volume on the subject."--"The Guardian."
Living in Ancient Rome by Don Nardo (Editor)
Call Number: DG78 .L6 2004
ISBN: 0737714565
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
For centuries Rome controlled the entire Mediterranean world. This volume examines various aspects of Roman life in the words of both modern and ancient writers. Covered in a series of informative essays are houses and apartments, slaves, religious worship, marriage, roads and travel, and chariot races and other sports and games.
The Romans and Their World by Brian Campbell
Call Number: EBRARY E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780300117950
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
This one-volume history of the Roman world begins with the early years of the republic and carries the story nearly a thousand years forward to 476, when Romulus Augustus, the last Western Roman emperor, was deposed. Brian Campbell, respected scholar and teacher, presents a fascinating and wide-ranging introduction to Rome, drawing on an array of ancient sources and covering topics of interest to readers with little prior background in Roman history as well as those already familiar with the great civilization. Campbell explores several themes, including the fall of the republic, the impact of colorful and diverse emperors on imperial politics, the administrative structure of empire, and the Roman army and how warfare affected the Roman world. He also surveys cultural and social life, including religion and the rise of Christianity. Generously enhanced with maps and illustrations, this book is a rich and inspiring account of a mighty civilization and the citizens who made it so.
Chronicle of the Roman Republic by Philip Matyszak
Call Number: DG231 .M39 2003
ISBN: 0500287635
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by Rachel Kitzinger (Editor); Michael Grant (Editor)
Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988 V.1-3
ISBN: 0684175940
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A three-volume reference work of 97 original essays on the people, customs, government, religion, and arts of the ancient world, from 2000 B.C. to the fall of Rome in A.D.476. Structured to present a comparative rather than chronological study of Greek and Roman institutions and life. The essays are
A Companion to the Roman Republic by Nathan Rosenstein (Editor); Robert Morstein-Marx (Editor)
Call Number: EBRARY BOOK
ISBN: 9781444334135
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
This Companion provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of Roman Republican history as it is currently practiced. Highlights recent developments, including archaeological discoveries, fresh approaches to textual sources, and the opening up of new areas of historical study Retains the drama of the Republic?s rise and fall Emphasizes not just the evidence of texts and physical remains, but also the models and assumptions that scholars bring to these artefacts Looks at the role played by the physical geography and environment of Italy Offers a compact but detailed narrative of military and political developments from the birth of the Roman Republic through to the death of Julius Caesar Discusses current controversies in the field

Films & Videos

You can find these films on the Upper Level of Warner Library.

The Roman Empire in the First Century by PBS Home Video
Call Number: DG78.R66 2005
ISBN: 9781415711125
Gods and Goddesses by The History Channel
Call Number: BL783.G63 2006
ISBN: 9780767092494
Great Courses: Classical archaeology of ancient Greece and Rome by John R. Hale
Call Number: DVD HIST WORLD HAL CLA Discs 1-6
ISBN: 9781598032130

Library of Congress Classification: DE & DG

Books about Italy & the Greco-Roman world are located in the stacks under DE & DG. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.

Library of Congress Classification for Italy & the Greco-Roman world

E-Books

Warner has access to a number of electronic book databases! The following links take you to them where you can search on a topic of your choice.

Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1, 13th Century-1893 This link opens in a new window
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 is an archive of religious and theological literature from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2, 1894-1922 This link opens in a new window
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 is an archive of religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922. It showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western religions.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
eBook collection in EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
"The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video."--EBSCOhost
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Hosted within Oxford Academic, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform. Check off the "Purchased" filter on the left of the results screen to see all of the titles Eastern has access to in OSO's catalog.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues from over 2,500 titles.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hosting thousands of titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content - including scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks - making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

Note: The only sections available for EU students are "Academic Books," "CQ Press Books," "Reference," and "Navigator."

Ancient Rome: Find Books & Films

Library Catalog

Search Worldcat!

Search Terms

Find Books

Films & Videos

Library of Congress Classification: DE & DG

E-Books

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library