LibGuides: SOWK 105: Introduction to Social Work: Databases

Useful Search Terms

Social Workers; Social work research; International social work; Social Work Ethics.

Major subject terms you can try when targeting specific issues in Social Work issues are: Homelessness, Mental Illness, Adoption, Child and Family Issues, Divorce, Abuse, Child Abuse, Adoption, Drug Addition, Anexoria.

Getting Started

Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.

Database Providers

When you access a database you will be prompted to login using your MyEastern login and password. Once you do that you will have access to all databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database offers full-text, dating from 1985 to present, for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals, including more than 1,250 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study- EBSCOhost.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains Dissertations & Theses. Ethnic News Watch and Gender Watch databases.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Journal content (PDFs, html abstracts) from over 200 Sage journals, nearly all the available on-line Sage content.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Choose related topic areas to search. It is not recommended to 'select all.' Psychology databases within EbscoHost are useful for many areas of study in Social Work.