Biblical & Classical Languages: Books

The Hebrew-English Concordance to the Old Testament is the exhaustive index to the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia, 4th edition, and the Hebrew text underlying the New International Version of the Bible. It replaces the venerable Englishman's Hebrew and Chaldee Concordance of the Old Testament by George Wigram, published over 150 years ago.

Provides everything the student needs to translate an Old Testament passage-

Gain a better understanding of word meanings in the Old Testament with Wilson's Old Testament Word Studies. Wilson's is a valuable tool for both the Hebrew student and those who do not have a working knowledge of the language.

The convenient, comprehensive, popular one-volume English/ Hebrew, Hebrew/English Dictionary Now updated for the first time in thirty-five years.

Teach students how to read the Hebrew Bible and mine the Biblical text for literary, historical, and thematic meaning. Presents how a knowledge of ancient culture, religion, and history is essential for correctly interpreting Biblical texts.

This multivolume work is still proving to be as fundamental to Old Testament studies as its companion set, the Kittel-Friedrich "Theological Dictionary of the New Testament," has been to New Testament studies. The "TDOT" volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Leading scholars of various religious traditions (including Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Greek Orthodox, and Jewish) and from many parts of the world (Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States) have been carefully selected for each article by editors Botterweck, Ringgren, and Fabry and their consultants, George W. Anderson, Henri Cazelles, David Noel Freedman, Shemaryahu Talmon, and Gerhard Wallis.

Reference work for the study of early Christian literature.

This work was created by Friedrich Blass, professor of classical philology at the University of Halle-Wittenberg, and was continued after his death by Albert Debrunner, professor of Indo-European and classical philology at the University of Bern until his retirement in 1954. The grammar has passed through ten editions from 1896 to 1960.

Presents vocabulary and sentence structure encountered in the Greek New Testament.

This indispensable companion to key post-Reformation theological texts provides clear and concise definitions of Latin and Greek terms for students at a variety of levels. Written by a leading scholar of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras, this volume offers definitions that bear the mark of expert judgment and precision. The second edition includes new material and has been updated and revised throughout.

For students reading ecclesiastical Latin. Includes the Latin of Jerome's Bible, canon law, liturgy, hymns, and papal bulls

Fifty years in the making, the Oxford Latin Dictionary is the first Latin-English dictionary based on a fresh reading of original sources. The Dictionary was published in eight fascicles between 1968 and 1982 and is now available in a single bound volume. Features of the Oxford Latin Dictionary · First Latin-English dictionary composed directly from original sources · Comprehensive coverage of classical Latin with entries for approximately 40,000 words · Based on a collection of over one million quotations that illustrate the meaning and use of Latin words from the earliest known instance · Definitions are in modern English and based on modern lexicographical principles · Up-to-date with the inclusion of better texts as well as epigraphical material that was previously unavailable The Oxford Latin Dictionary is a comprehensive and authoritative reference work for students, teachers, professionals, and general readers interested in classical languages and literature, ancient history, medieval studies, languages, art history, ancient philosophy, religion, archaeology, law, medicine, and natural science.