Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about classical music.
- "staff notation"
- "equal temperament"
- "Common Practice Period"
Classical Music on the Web
Run by The Center for Beethoven Studies, it is the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe. In addition to functioning as a research library, the Center is involved in a variety of educational programs and projects and sponsors concerts, lectures, tours, and other programs.
British Library: Classical music Archival Sound Recordings
Historical classical recordings from the British Library Sound Archive
Classical Composers Database
Classical music composers of all periods and countries, with biographies and work lists.
Classical Music Navigator
Presents over 400 composers and classical types of music- Librarian's Index to the Internet
provides "a point-of-entry into a wide array of informational files -- over 2000 in all -- about classical music, as well as over 1800 links to other interesting web sites." Information includes a basic repertoire list; classical compact disc buying guide; recommendations of classical CDs; composer data; reviews and articles; and links to other sites about classical music.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music: Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
The Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM) enhances digital images of European sources of medieval, polyphonic music.
Digitale Bibliothek - Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum
This site provides access to the digitized works by many great composers.
This commercial classical music site provides information on music news, feature articles, music awards, performance and cd reviews, notice of competitions, industry news, and upcoming concert listings.
Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum
The Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum (ISM; International Mozart Foundation) has digitized Mozart’s music, The ‘NMA Online’ is a digital version of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe New Mozart Edition), a scholarly edition of Mozart’s complete works that was compiled by musicologists from around the world in the last 50 years.
Music, Sheet - Project Gutenberg
Scores available for download by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Grainger, and more.
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download.
Online Chopin Variorum Edition
"The Online Chopin Variorum Edition (OCVE) differs in important respects from standard musical editions. Instead of presenting one editor’s interpretation of a single source or multiple sources, as most editions do, OCVE displays the relevant primary source materials for a number of Chopin’s works, allowing the user to see these individually and then to juxtapose comparable passages from the disparate sources within the source pool."--ocve.org.uk
Petrucci Music Library
"Welcome to the Petrucci Music Library! Our goal is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge. "--imslp.org
SAUTSCHECKS LIEDERKREIS: LAUTE, LIEDER & ZEITGEIST...
"This site offers FREE scores of such Lieder with Accompaniments arranged in Lute Tabulature [not only by Sautschecks, but others as well], for practical use by Lutenists who work with Singers or sing themselves."--polyhymnion.org
Society for Seventeenth-Century Music
"dedicated to the study and performance of seventeenth-century music and related arts. The Society currently includes more than 280 members and about one-hundred fifty additional international subscribers to its electronic newslist SSCM-L."--arts.uci.edu
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection
"The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 138 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs, and first editions, which were donated to the School by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner."--juilliardmanuscriptcollection.org
The latest classical music recordings released by the BBC.