LibGuides: General Studies in Music: Find Articles & Journals

Search Terms

Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources on music.

Composition
Composer
Lyrics
Notation
Consonance and dissonance
serialism
"musical semiotics"
"set theory"
"call and response"
improvisation
inharmonicity
isorhythm
talea
motet

Rapid ILL

Need an article NOT available in full text? We can get it for you and have it delivered straight to your email. To use RAPID ILL access the link below.

When requesting an article, please make sure to fill in all the boxes. The ISSN is most important!

Music Journals

These journals are available through different database provides. All of them are accessible from on-campus and off-campus through your myEastern credentials.

Computer Music Journal
Concentrates on skills, technologies, and promises of digital sound and musical applications of computers- EBSCOhost
Early Music Performer
(EBSCOhost)
ECHO
A music-centered journal
General Music Today
Contains articles on emerging trends, effective teaching ideas, & new material for teaching general music at all levels. (EBSCOhost)
Journal of Musicological Research
Publishes original articles on all aspects of the discipline of music: historical musicology, style and repertory studies, music theory, ethnomusicology, music education, organology, and interdisciplinary studies- Publisher (EBSCOhost)
Journal of Musicology
Articles addressing aspects of musical style in all periods, from the historical, analytic, and critical points of view, on performance practice and music editing, archival studies and reviews of literature- Warner Library
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
Published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century.
Leonardo Music Journal
Presents the aesthetic and technical issues in contemporary music and sonic arts. Features artists/writers from around the world, representing a wide range of stylistic viewpoints- Project Muse. Request articles from Project Muse through RAPID ILL.
Music & Letters
Music & Letters is a leading international journal of musical scholarship, publishing articles on topics ranging from antiquity to the present day and embracing musics from classical, popular, and world traditions. Request articles from Project Muse through RAPID ILL
Music Theory Online
A journal of criticism, commentary, research, and scholarship.
Popular Music and Society
Research articles and reviews for a general readership about popular music, culture, and sociology- EBSCOhost
Psychology of Music

A to Z Journal List

Find out what journals Warner Library subscribes to. Search by journal title or browse by subject.

A to Z Journal List This link opens in a new window Contains a searchable list of all the library's fulltext journal title holdings and locations.

Refworks with Login link and How to use it

Import citations from research databases

Organize your citations in folders
Search within them
Create citations from scratch
Compile bibliography/works cited
Share your citations with other RefWorks users

Login to RefWorks
YOU MUST USE YOUR EASTERN UNIV. EMAIL ADDRESS
How to Use RefWorks
A guide from Proquest on how to navigate through the New Refworks Platform.

General Studies in Music: Find Articles & Journals

Search Terms

Rapid ILL

Music Journals

A to Z Journal List

Refworks with Login link and How to use it

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library