Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Memory from the Library of Congress - Performing Arts (Music)
American Memory provides free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. The materials are from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Dolmetsch Online - Music Dictionary Introduction
Music Dictionary Online's primary purpose is, in the case of non-English words and phrases, to offer translations and, more generally, and where appropriate, to offer explanations and comments about general (non-musical) words as well as specialist (i.e. musical, etc.) terms that might be found in musical scores, libretti, books on music, web sites, CD notes, concert programmes, etc.
Glossary of musical terminology
A long list of musical terms across genres that are listed in alphabetical order.
Ear-training tool that offers aural exercises in identifying intervals, chords, scales, and cadences.
Musical Terms | Music Glossary: Terminology | Dictionary
A music glossary maintained by Naxos, the world's leading classical music recording label.
Site that allows you to create highly customizable music theory flash cards.
Music Theory and History Online
A repository for the basics of notation, meter, rhythm, cord structures and more.
Ricci Adams' Musictheory.net
Collection of music theory tutorials. Lessons include staff, clef, and ledger lines; note and rest durations; measures and time signatures; major and minor scales; and more. Provides interactive exercises (Trainers) for keyboard, guitar, brass, and ear, include sight and audio recognition of notes, keys, chords, and other elements- Librarian's Index to the Internet
Teoria- Music Theory Web
Site dedicated to the study and practice of msuca theory. You'll find tutorials on reading music, intervals, scales, chords, harmonic functions, and interactive exercises.
Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary
Award-winning, pioneering designers, developers, publishers and distributors of world-class,
accredited courses, training programs and services used in-classroom, online or blended environments
in over 1500 colleges and universities in the USA and abroad since 1999.
OnMusic Dictionary is the successor of former Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.
Theory of Music
A blog from the composer and music lecturer Barry Mitchell. He uses it to upload his lecture notes. Take a look!