Astronomy, Astrophysics and related resources.: Books

This second edition of the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Astronomy aims to provide a major revision of the trade edition of the astronomy content in the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms (based on the 6th edition). It covers the principal disciplines of astronomy and contains approximately 3600 entries, each accompanied by a pronunciation guide.

"On the Cosmic Horizon reaches wide across the cosmos to provide lucid explanations for many of the most compelling cosmic questions. Following a Top Ten countdown, the book explores with wit and clarity each mystery and how it may be resolved. Each enigma is made accessible through a story which draws upon history and everyday human experience. Along the way, we learn about our state-of-the-art understanding of the universe, future missions, and the potential impact of unravelling these cosmic conundrums. On the Cosmic Horizon is the perfect book for anyone who wants to understand astronomical headlines and why they are important."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Perkins (particle and astrophysics, Oxford University) provides background on particle physics and the astrophysics of the early universe in this text for advanced undergraduates and graduate students. Introductory chapters cover the interactions of elementary particles and their role in the expanding universe. Cosmological asymmetries, dark matter, and dark energy are examined, and final chapters turn to the growth of cosmic structure in high energy cosmic rays and the particle processes in stars. Worked examples, problems, and solutions are included. Some knowledge of quantum mechanics and special relativity is assumed. Annotation © 2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Giaconni recounts the ways in which the management methods and scientific methodology behind successful astronomy projects came to set the standards of operations for all subsequent space- and Earth-based observatories. Along the way he spares no criticism and holds back no praise, detailing individual as well as institutional failures and successes, reflecting upon how far astronomy has come and how far it has yet to go.

Here it is, in a nutshell: the history of one genius's most crucial work - discoveries that were to change the face of modern physics. In the early 1900s, Albert Einstein formulated two theories that would forever change the landscape of physics: the Special Theory of Relativity and the General Theory of Relativity. Respected American academic Professor Tai Chow tells us the story of these discoveries. He details the basic ideas of Einstein, including his law of gravitation. Deftly employing his inimitable writing style, he goes on to explain the physics behind black holes, weaving into his account an explanation of the structure of the universe and the science of cosmology.

"Space and Astronomy: Decade by Decade" reveals how the astronomers unravel the mysteries of how the Sun shines, how stars collapse into black holes, and how the universe expands. It is the story of dreamers who designed rockets to bring back knowledge of other worlds and other galaxies. This volume of the "Twentieth-Century Science" set describes the progress of astronomy and the development of spaceflight from 1901 to 2000.

Astrophysics: Decoding the Cosmos is an accessible introduction to the key principles and theories underlying astrophysics. This text takes a close look at the radiation and particles that we receive from astronomical objects, providing a thorough understanding of what this tells us, drawing the information together using examples to illustrate the process of astrophysics. Chapters dedicated to objects showing complex processes are written in an accessible manner and pull relevant background information together to put the subject firmly into context. The intention of the author is that the book will be a 'tool chest' for undergraduate astronomers wanting to know the how of astrophysics. Students will gain a thorough grasp of the key principles, ensuring that this often-difficult subject becomes more accessible.

A concise but thorough introduction to the observational data and theoretical concepts underlying modern astronomy, Astrophysics in a Nutshell is designed for advanced undergraduate science majors taking a one-semester course. This well-balanced and up-to-date textbook covers the essentials of modern astrophysics--from stars to cosmology--emphasizing the common, familiar physical principles that govern astronomical phenomena, and the interplay between theory and observation. In addition to traditional topics such as stellar remnants, galaxies, and the interstellar medium, Astrophysics in a Nutshell introduces subjects at the forefront of modern research, including black holes, dark matter, gravitational lensing, and dark energy, all updated with some of the latest observational results. To aid physical understanding, mathematical derivations are kept as simple, short, and clear as possible, and order-of-magnitude estimates, dimensional analysis, and scaling arguments are frequently used. These no-nonsense, "back-of-the-envelope" calculations train students to think like physicists. The book is amply illustrated with simple, clear figures and each chapter ends with a set of problems. In addition to serving as a course textbook, Astrophysics in a Nutshell is an ideal review for a qualifying exam and a handy reference for teachers and researchers. The most concise and up-to-date astrophysics textbook for science majors Contains a broad and well-balanced choice of traditional subjects and current research topics Uses simple, short, and clear derivations of physical results Trains students in the essential skills of order-of-magnitude analysis Includes teaching problems with each chapter