Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about American History. If you wish to access any of these, you must sign in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and My Eastern logins).
Academic Search Complete
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
A collection of reference books in digital format, this database includes the Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, The Great American History Fact-Finder, and The Reader's Companion to American History.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
"Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology. Coverage includes the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and much more."--EBSCOhost.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government. This collection provides full text for hundreds journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals.
History brings together key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage, and much more to facilitate research and teaching in a comparative, transnational, and thematic way. Areas of focus include Trade and Exploration, The American Revolutionary Era, The American Civil War, Imperialism and Colonialism, World War I, The Jazz Age, The Post-World War II Era, The Sixties, Women’s History, Black History, and International Newsreels. Users can search thousands of hours to explore and analyze key events and topics from early encounters to the most recent events in global history.
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues from over 2,500 titles.
OmniFile FullText Select
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history, applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology.