Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Primary Sources on the Web
A brief guide developed by the Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association designed to provide students, teachers and researchers with information to help them use and evaluate the quality of primary source materials that can be found on the web.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Covers the 15th century onwards and links to primary documents pertaining to American History. Links are compiled by Lynn Nelson, Professor Emeritus of History at the University of Kansas.
Gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Offers digital items from more than 100 historical collections- Librarian's Index to the Internet
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides digitized copies of newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Also contains directory information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Currently contains newspapers from 9 states and the District of Columbia, but it's an ongoing project with additional newspapers continuing to be added.
Contains the papers of six of the Founding Fathers--John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and George Washington.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology,
National Archives and Records Administration
Website of the government department that maintains the historically valuable records of the U.S. government from the Revolutionary war era to the recent past. Many of these records are available through the website.
Westweb: Western History Resources
WestWeb is a topically-organized website about the study of the American West created and maintained by Catherine Lavender of the Department of History, College of Staten Island, The City University of New York.
World Wide Web Virtual Library
Provides a comprehensive index to websites in the area of American history.