Banner Image

Biology and related subjects.: Home

A sampling of library resources.

SCIRUS Search Box

www.scirus.com

Quarterly Review of Biology

Loading
Blank

Welcome to Biology and related subjects.

This is a Warner Memorial Library guide to assist our biology/life sciences students.

Search the Online Catalog.

Definitions

biology In Dictionary of World Philosophy

From the Greek bios, i.e. ‘life,’ and logia, i.e. ‘theory of.’ Before biology became an independent.... Biology was also a part of philosophical inquiry for the Greek philosopher Aristotle (384–322 BCE), who...

biology
In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide

Greek bios ‘life’, logos ‘discourse’ [article] Science of life. Biology includes all the life... (systems biology). Origins The word was first used 1802 by the German physician Gottfried Reinhold...

Biology In McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

...divisions of study in biology consist of zoology (animals), botany (plants), and protistology (one... cellular biology, microbiology (the study of microbes such as bacteria and viruses), taxonomy (the...

biology In The Columbia Encyclopedia

...biology in such fields as biochemistry (physiological chemistry), biophysics (the physics of life... biology, broadening and deepening its scope and creating the sciences of microbiology, the study of...

biology In Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions

.../b ī•olˈəje/ The scientific study of life. Some branches of biology are biometry, cytology, ecology, evolution, genetics, molecular biology, and physiology.

biology In The New Penguin Dictionary of Science

The study of living organisms. Modern biology weaves together a wide range of scientific disciplines including the physical and chemical sciences, mathematics and computing.

Biology and the Life Sciences In Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia

Thumbnail image from entry

The practice of biology and other life sciences in the last half of the twentieth century has been... larger scale preferred by traditional biologists and zoologists. Molecular biology became a dominant...

Subject Guide