Biology: Databases/eJournals

Open access to over 838,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

"The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global 'biodiversity commons.'"--biodiversitylibrary.org/

Online database of free peer-reviewed scientific articles in all areas of medical research and biology.

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the publications of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. NAP publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

Read the publications for free on their website, or download them as a guest or with an account. Ask the librarian for assistance!

NCCIH is the component of the U.S. National Institutes of Health that conducts, funds, and shares scientific research on complementary and integrative health topics. Use the "Health Topics A-Z" button to look at fact sheets covering health conditions, supplements, and complementary health approaches. There is also a separate section "For Health Care Professionals" with information for patient-medical professional relationships.

Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible.

Including:
-PLOS ONE
-PLOS Biology
-PLOS Medicine
-PLOS Computational Biology
-PLOS Genetics
-PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
-PLOS Pathogens

PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes TOXLINE.

A leading scientific database offering an index to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.

**Request full text articles using RAPID ILL**

"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost

AVON contains more than 66,500 titles across all disciplines, all cross-searchable, making it a one-stop, multidisciplinary solution for libraries. More materials are added monthly—ensuring that it stays current.

SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC).

Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.

An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.

Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.

With EBSCO Open Dissertations, institutions and students are offered an innovative approach to driving additional traffic to ETDs in institutional repositories. Our goal is to help make their students’ theses and dissertations as widely visible and cited as possible.

This approach extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present.

Contains: Academic Search Complete, ATLA+Serials, Business Source CINAHL, ERIC, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MLA Bibliography, MMY, Philosophers Index, PsychInfo.

Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues from over 2,500 titles.

MIT Press Direct is the best way for libraries to offer MIT Press eBooks to their patrons, with more than 2,500 eBooks available. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

Search the 4,000,000+ electronic theses and dissertations contained in the international NDLTD archive.

This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history, applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology.

Hosted within Oxford Academic, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform. Check off the "Purchased" filter on the left of the results screen to see all of the titles Eastern has access to in OSO's catalog.

Over 1300000 high quality photos, illustrations, and vector graphics. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access during their submission process to ProQuest.

Hosting thousands of titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content - including scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks - making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

Note: The only sections available for EU students are "Academic Books," "CQ Press Books," "Reference," and "Navigator."

Wiley Online Library contains over 900 journals on science, mathematics, and more. Date coverage is from three years ago and prior (i.e. before 2014). Current article citations can be requested through the library's interlibrary loan tools, EZ Borrow and Rapid ILL.