LibGuides: Biology: Finding Books

Click HERE to browse Warner Library's selection of biology books.

When you visit our library's online catalog, you can browse all of our physical books, as well as many of our ebooks. If you would like to place a hold on a book to pick up at a later time, log in with your Eastern ID information in the top-right corner of the browser. Please contact the library for further assistance.

How to Find Biology Books in the Library

Warner Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books, meaning they are organized from A-Z based on their subject. Here are some sections of the library that are related to Biology:

Q1-295: Science (General)

QH: Natural History - Biology

QH301-705.5 - Biology (General)

359-425 - Evolution
426-470 - Genetics
471-489 - Reproduction
501-531 - Life
540-549.5 - Ecology
573-671 - Cytology

QR: Microbiology

1-74.5 - General
75-99.5 - Bacteria
99.6-99.8 - Cyanobacteria
100-130 - Microbial ecology
171 - Microorganisms in the animal body
180-198.5 - Immunology
355-502 - Virology

The Q section is located in the library's upper level atrium. Please ask a library clerk or a librarian for further assistance.

Need Help?

Ebooks

You can find a wide array of eBooks via these databases available through Warner Library.

Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
"The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global 'biodiversity commons.'"--biodiversitylibrary.org/
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
Eagle Search Catalog This link opens in a new window
The library's search engine that includes records for ebooks, articles, theses and dissertations, videos, newspapers, reference resources, and more!
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
eBook collection in EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Direct is the best way for libraries to offer MIT Press eBooks to their patrons, with more than 2,500 eBooks available. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Hosted within Oxford Academic, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform. Check off the "Purchased" filter on the left of the results screen to see all of the titles Eastern has access to in OSO's catalog.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hosting thousands of titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content - including scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks - making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

Note: The only sections available for EU students are "books" and "reference."

Biology: Finding Books

How to Find Biology Books in the Library

Need Help?

Ebooks

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library