Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EU's B.A. in Elementary Education
To learn more about obtaining a B.A. in Elementary Education, click on the link below.
Welcome to the Elementary Education Guide!
Welcome to the Elementary Education guide. This guide acts as a starting point for your research. Consult it to learn where to find books, articles, journals, databases, and other information resources.
How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are different types of resources- Books, Journals, Websites, etc. Click on the tab to find resources about elementary education in that format.
If you need help with your research you can send me an instant message
(see box on the right), an email, or come by my office. I am happy to
Reference databases provide contextual information about all
"a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips."
Contains electronic version of Britannica's encyclopedias, plus web periodicals, websites and other information.
Databases: Elementary Education
Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about this topic.
To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).
Academic Search Complete
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.
Professional Development Collection
Includes full text for more than 500 high-quality education journals.
Contains more than 178,000 articles, content from more than 100 journals, and coverage spans 1894 to present from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations.
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals on the following topics: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.