Skip to main content

More about EDS Eagle Search: Get to Know This Tool

A brief overview of our EDS search platform.


EAGLE SEARCH

Eagle Search includes many, many resources, but not everything Warner Library subscribes to. See below for the exceptions.

Subscription Databases

  • Drug Information Portal
  • Encyclopedia of Social Work (partial)
  • Ethnic News Watch
  • Facts on File – Issues & Controversies
  • Greenr
  • Image Quest
  • Nexis Uni (partial)
  • PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
  • Proquest Dissertations (including Eastern University theses/dissertations)
  • SciFinder Chemical Abstracts
  • Statista

Citation Information

  • APA Style Guide to Electronic References
  • Chicago Style Manual

News Databases

  • Eastern University Student Newspaper
  • Newsbank – Business News
  • New York Times Archive: Time machine
  • New York Times in Education
  • Philadelphia inquirer, 1860-2001
  • Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Open Access Databases

  • Bible Gateway
  • Bible Hub
  • Blue Letter Bible
  • Congress.gov
  • FundRef
  • Gapminder
  • Open NASA
  • PubMed
  • Popline
  • Open Access Digital Theological Library
  • Princeton Theological Commons
  • Science Direct

Theology Databases

  • Classic Sermon index
  • ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
  • ATLA Serials Collection for Alumni
  • Research in Ministry

WHAT IS EAGLE SEARCH?

Eagle Search is a discovery tool that is almost like Googling!  A single search in Eagle Search can return records from most of our subscription databases, as well as our book and media catalog. It can be related to Google Scholar, though Eagle Search has many advantages over Google Scholar. It is a library search engine that includes full-text materials for:

  • E-Books
  • Print Books
  • Scholarly Articles
  • Videos
  • Images
  • and more!

Comprehensive searches on a topic require using subject-specific databases.

Vague or short searches will return too many results; searches using well-refined search terms or phrases in quotes will return fewer, more refined results.

Some Options in EDS

Research Startersencyclopedic entries created by EBSCO, may appear for certain searches, which can be accessed for general information.

If applicable, our online research guides might appear in a special box within the results, for additional information related to your search.

Save any PDF you find to Google Drive, OneDrive, or Dropbox using the "Save PDF to Cloud" link. -->


Acknowledgements   Used under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License from Virginia Tech Libraries.

Search in EDS:

Eagle Search: ebooks, articles and more