LibGuides: NURS 402 Leadership in Nursing Practice: Journals

Journals of Evidenced-Based Nursing Research

This list is a valuable research avenue for nursing students. Evidenced-based nursing is research written by practicing practicing nurses.

Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a problem-solving approach to the delivery of health care that integrates the best evidence from studies and patient care data with clinician expertise and patient preferences and values. Tap these resources frequently.

ANS: Advances in Nursing Science
Contains peer reviewed articles concerning all aspects of nursing science and education, including the latest developments in the field
European Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing
Internet Journal of Advanced Nursing Practice
ISPUB is an open-access collection of peer-reviewed medical and scientific journals, covering a wide range of topics, disciplines, and specialties, and boasting authorship from all around the world.
Journal of Advanced Nursing
Features scholarly contributions on all aspects of nursing care and nursing education, management and research which have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base.
Journal of Clinical Nursing
Contains papers and research related to all aspects of nursing.
Journal of Nursing Education
Provides a forum for original articles and new ideas for nursing educators in various types and levels of nursing programs.
Journal of Nursing Scholarship
Journal of Pediatric Oncology Nursing
Journal of Perinatal Education
Deals with news, research and events about pregnancy, childbirth and early childcare.
Journal of Transcultural Nursing: Official Journal of the Transcultural Nursing Society
Concerned with the influence of culture on nursing practice and the delivery of health care.
Journal of Trauma Nursing
International trauma nursing journal, focused on the care of the trauma patient throughout the continuum of care.
Nursing Economic$
Aims to advance nursing leadership in health care, with a focus on tomorrow, by providing information and thoughtful analyses of content and emerging best practices in health care management, economics, and policymaking.
Nursing Ethics: An International Journal for Health Care Professionals
Peer reviewed articles covering policy issues, debates, & controversies relating to ethical and legal questions faced by health care professionals with a practical approach to topics as they relate to professionals and the workplace.
Nursing Research & Practice
Results of clinical, educational, administrative, and research studies in nursing by means of articles, letters, news, items, and abstracts.
Oncology Nursing Forum
Covers information related to practice, technology, education, and research; promotes a positive image of oncology nursing; prints papers and stimulates discussion of critical issues relevant to oncology nursing.
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
Provides a forum to exchange ideas & data about topics that affect nursing practice, education & research. Addresses major health care concerns for health care professionals. Is explored form a variety of viewpoints.
Online Journal of Nursing Informatics
Focuses on nursing informatics in all practice settings.
Online Journal of Rural Nursing and Health Care
Publishes research and practice-related articles for rural nurses and other health professionals.
Western Journal of Nursing Research: An International Forum for Communicating Nursing Research
Articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews covering research studies, discussion and debate and meeting calendars aimed at a general nursing audience.
Canadian Journal of Nursing Informatics
Archived issues from 2006-present. Online.
Evidenced-Based Nursing
Access to archives via publisher's website. May not be full-text; Use Rapid ILL to obtain FT.
See Rapid in this guide.
National Emergency Nurses Association
For International Emergency Nursing Journal.
American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
Association of Nurses in AIDS Care

Journals Specific to Nursing Leadership

Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
This open access journal provides a forum for discussion of issues inherent in current topics of interest to nurses and other healthcare professional.
American Journal of Nursing
American Nurse

Journal Titles

This partial list of journal titles provides information on many areas of nursing. Included are specialty areas of nursing. You may also click on the box to the left to search in the A to Z journal listing for a journal not listed here.

AAACN Viewpoint
Up-to-date information on current topics in ambulatory care nursing.
AACN Bold Voices
Covers topics in critical care nursing, radiology, oncology, administrative concerns, etc.
AANA Journal
Peer-reviewed coverage of the science of anesthesia delivery, including issues, ideas, and innovations that advance the practice of nurse anesthesia.
The ABNF journal
Presents the distinct nature & health-care needs of the Black patient with original research.
Advances in Nursing Science
AJN: American Journal of Nursing
A peer reviewed journal for the experienced and professional registered nurse. Covers nursing practice, trends and issues.
AORN Journal
Provides professional perioperative registered nurses with evidence-based practice information needed to help meet the physiological, behavioral, safety, and health system needs of a diverse patient population.
Biological research for nursing
Features research papers, empirical and theoretical articles, editorials, abstracts of recent dissertations, and conference summaries that relate to nursing care.
BMC nursing
A journal affiliated with BioMed Central.
British journal of community nursing
Promotes excellence in primary care by publishing clinical reviews, clinical updates, innovations in practice, research and development, and education.
British Journal of Nursing
Presents the latest developments in clinical and practice-based nursing.
Cancer Nursing Practice
The official publications of the International Society of Nurses in Cancer Care and The European Oncology Nursing Society. Addresses the whole spectrum of problems arising in the care and support of cancer patients.
Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing
Covers information necessary for direct care of patients and their families across the cancer continuum.
Clinical Nurse Specialist: The Journal for Advanced Nursing Practice
Some access to articles in this online resource. Some you are required to purchase. Contact the librarians for options.
Clinical Nursing Research: An International Journal
Research articles focused on clinical practice in nursing.
Human Resources for Health
Published by World Health Organization and available via PubMed Central.
International Emergency Nursing
Accesses article abstracts in archive of its issues.
International Journal of Mental Health
Examines current trends and developments in mental health practice and research.
International Journal of Nursing Knowledge
International Journal of Nursing Practice
Features original scholarly work that advances the international understanding and development of nursing both as a profession and as an academic discipline.
International Journal of Nursing Studies
Current and past issues available with abstract only. Use rapid ILL to request full text article.
International Journal of Nursing Terminologies & Classifications
Terminologies & Classifications. Promotes the development, refinement & utilization of nursing language & classification.
Journal of Mental Health
Applicable research, evaluation, service development, commentaries, clinical reports and policy issues regarding mental health services and issues. A forum for all mental health professionals and managers to keep abreast of new ideas and evidence.
Journal of Addiction
Journal of Advanced Nursing
Features scholarly contributions on all aspects of nursing care and nursing education, management and research which have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base.
Journal of Clinical Nursing
Contains papers and research related to all aspects of nursing.
Journal of Gynecologic Oncology Nursing
Dedicated to the advancement of patient care, education, and research in the field of gynecologic oncology and women's health care.
Journal of Holistic Nursing: Official Journal of the American Holistic Nurses' Association
Original articles offering a holistic nursing foundation for practitioners and educators through shared research and clinical experience.
Journal of Nursing Management
Dedicated to issues relating to the management of nurses and nursing. Topics include clinical management methods, budget and resource allocation in health care, quality assurance, business and strategic planning, health policy etc.
Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
A British journal featuring articles, reviews, and case reports relevant to the entire field of obstetrics and gynaecology, from laboratory research to clinical reports.
Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology Research
Presents original research articles, review articles, short communications and editorials related to this field.
Journal of Perinatology
Focuses on maternal/fetal medicine, the neonatal period and the follow-up of the infant and child, and new developments and technologies in neonatal intensive care.
Journal of Research in Nursing
Journal of Specialized Nursing Care
Journal of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care
National Nurse
Neonatal, Paediatric & Child Health Nursing
Official publication of the Australian Confederation of Paediatric and Child Health Nurses and the Australian Neonatal Nurses Association, professional groups providing care for babies, children and their families.
Nursing for Women's Health
Nursing Management
Nursing Older People
Contains news analysis, nursing practice, clinical & research articles, book & journal reviews & conference listings.
Nursing Research and Practice
Provides information about all areas of nursing and includes case reports and clinical studies.
Nursing Standard
Presents exclusive, up-to-the-minute coverage on issues that affect the entire nursing field.
Nursing Update
Primary Health Care
Features include news, clinical articles, essential skills to help nurses stay up to date with new techniques, continuing professional development articles, features, event listings & reviews.
Reflections on Nursing Leadership
Features contemporary articles on nurses at the forefront of change.

Your Librarian

Information Desk at Warner Library

Email Me

Contact:

(610) 341-1777

NURS 402 Leadership in Nursing Practice: Journals

Journals of Evidenced-Based Nursing Research

Journals Specific to Nursing Leadership

Journal Titles

Your Librarian

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library