Citation Styles Overview

Book

Note

1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Example:  1. Robert Doherty, Disputed Waters: Native Americans and the Great Lakes Fishery (Lexington: The University Press of Kentucky, 2015), 9. https://muse-jhu-edu.ozone.nsc.edu/book/37545.

Bibliography

Author last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL or name of database is accessed online.

Example:  Doherty, Robert. Disputed Waters: Native Americans and the Great Lakes Fishery. Lexington: The University Press of Kentucky, 2015. https://muse-jhu-edu.ozone.nsc.edu/book/37545.

 

Book Chapter/Section

Notes

2. First name Last name, "Title of Chapter/Section," in Title of Book, ed. First name Last name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Example:  2. Abraham Lincoln, "A House Divided," in Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches, ed. Josh Gottheimer, Bill Clinton, and Mary Frances Berry (New York: Basic Civitas Books, 2003), 66. Literary Reference Center.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Chapter/Section." In Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, page numbers. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Example:  Lincoln, Abraham. "A House Divided." In Ripples Of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches, edited by Josh Gottheimer, Bill Clinton, and Mary Frances Berry, 65-69. New York: Basic Civitas Books, 2003. Credo Reference.

 

Journal Article

Note

3. First name Last name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of publication): page number, doi:# if available.

Example:  3. Elizabeth Cobbs, "Fighting on Two Fronts: World War One, Women’s Suffrage, and John Pershing’s “Hello Girls”," South Central Review 34, no. 3 (2017): 33, doi:10.1353/scr.2017.0024.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of publication): page numbers. doi:# if available.

Example:  Cobbs, Elizabeth. "Fighting on Two Fronts: World War One, Women’s Suffrage, and John Pershing’s “Hello Girls”." South Central Review 34, no. 3 (2017): 31-47. doi:10.1353/scr.2017.0024.

 

Website Content

Note

6. First name Last name, "Title of Webpage," Title of Publishing Organization or Name of Website, date of publication if available or date accessed, URL.

Example:  6. "About Nevada State College," Nevada State College, accessed June 19, 2018. https://nsc.edu/about/.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Webpage," Title of Publishing Organization or Name of Website. Date of publication if available or date accessed. URL.

Example:  "About Nevada State College." Nevada State College. Accessed June 19, 2018. https://nsc.edu/about/.

 

Author-Date In-Text Citation Example 

Many reasons have been found for scarring of the esophagus (Morrison 2015, 216)

According to Morrison (2015, 216), many causes are found for the scarring in the throat.

 

Notes In-Text Citation Example

Martin argues that “parasitic conditions can be misdiagnosed as gastrointestinal illnesses.” ¹ 

However, it has been pointed out that there are many reasons that there could be scarring on the esophagus.²

 

Short Note Example

1. Galloway, Timeless, 240.

Full Notes Example 

1. Brian Galloway, Timeless (New York: Penguin Press, 2019), 240.