Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Cities and Buildings Database
A collection of over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages to the Parc de la Villette. Users can now search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
DSC Image Service Collections
Provides 330,000 high resolution, zoom-able digital images in about a dozen image collections including the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, the Farber Gravestone Collection, Hoover Institution Poster Collection. Cross-disciplinary coverage includes the arts, history, architecture, design, literature, city planning, anthropology, landscape architecture, archaeology, geography, cartography, gender, ethnic and area studies.
Kidder Smith Slide Archives on American Architecture
Selected images of from the 3400 slides in the Kidder Smith Slide Archives at MIT. The slide archive systematically covers 805 buildings from the pre-Columbian period to 1978 and includes sequences of 6 to 10 or more slides for some buildings. Approximately 2000 of the slides document mid- and late- 20th century buildings, with special attention to the 1950s and 1960s.