Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The Librarian" by Giuseppe Arcimboldo
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Collection of primary source documentation on American visual arts.
Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The images displayed on this site have been photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is bot
British Museum - Search the British Museum collection database online
Feature around 5,000 objects that reflect the range of the British Museum's collections.
DSC Image Service Collections
Provides 330,000 high resolution, zoom-able digital images in about a dozen image collections including the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, the Farber Gravestone Collection, Hoover Institution Poster Collection. Cross-disciplinary coverage includes the arts, history, architecture, design, literature, city planning, anthropology, landscape architecture, archaeology, geography, cartography, gender, ethnic and area studies.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions.
NYPL Digital Gallery | Home
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Perseus Digital Library
A collection of more than 500 primary and secondary texts on the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Also includes images of vases, sculptures, buildings and other art and archaeological works.
Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library
The Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library (PHDIL), is a collaborative effort between the Scott Memorial Library of Thomas Jefferson University and The Historical Society of Pennsylvania. PHDIL includes a variety of photographs, art work and portraits among its over 3,000 images.