Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Snake River / Ansel Adams / Photo C.1941. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 18 Jun 2013. http://quest.eb.com/images/109_175710
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
American Museum of Photography
Includes over 5,000 images from daguerreotype portraits to Ansel Adams.
AP Multimedia Archive
Includes Associated Press's current-year photo report and a selection from a 50-million image print and negative library dating from 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.
DSC Image Service Collections
Provides 330,000 high resolution, zoom-able digital images in about a dozen image collections including the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, the Farber Gravestone Collection, Hoover Institution Poster Collection. Cross-disciplinary coverage includes the arts, history, architecture, design, literature, city planning, anthropology, landscape architecture, archaeology, geography, cartography, gender, ethnic and area studies.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions.
Flickr: The Commons
"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."--The Flickr Commons
SAAM: Photography Archives
Online collections of more than 1500 images from the Smithsonian American Art Museum Photography Collection.
Jan T. Kozak Collection: Macroseismic Images of Historical Earthquakes
Contains 875 images of historical earthquakes. Images are accessible chronologically or by countries or region.
morgueFile: Free photos for creatives by creatives
Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!
NYPL Digital Gallery | Home
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Smithsonian Institution on Flickr
"The Smithsonian is happy to join the Flickr community. We look forward to your tags, comments, and general participation in this new venture. We will be adding more photos on a regular basis and hope you will often return to visit us."--Smithsonian on flickr
The Library of Congress on Flickr
"The Prints & Photographs Division takes care of 14 million of the Library's pictures and features more than 1 million through online catalogs. Offering historical photo collections through Flickr is a welcome opportunity to share some of our most popular images more widely."---from the LOC Flickr profile
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
"The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to over 800,000 items digitized from the Municipal Archives’ collections, including photographs, maps, motion-pictures and audio recordings."--nyc.gov
Over 1300000 high quality photos, illustrations, and vector graphics. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.