Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books from Warner Library
Creates a listing of current physical books available in the library on this subject.
Books from Ebrary
Creates a listing of current books available in eBrary on this subject.
Creates a listing of relevant books from a keyword search in EBSCOhost eBooks.
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Ecology and Ecosystem Conservation by
Call Number: QH541 .S325 2007eb (eBrary)
Ecology and Ecosystem Conservation provides students and other readers with a basic understanding of the fundamental principles of ecological science and their applications, offering an essential overview of the way ecology can be used to devise strategies to conserve the health and functioning of ecosystems.
Ecology Basics by
Call Number: QH540.4 .E39
Here is a spectacular, thought-provoking, and highly informative guide to the fascinating story of ecology. Superb color photographs of animals, plants, and ecosystems reveal the ideas and discoveries that have changed our understanding of life around us. Description from the Publisher.
Ecology of Soil Decomposition by
Call Number: QR111.A34 2003eb (eBrary)
This book describes trophic interactions between species that carry out the decomposition of organic matter in the soil. The key topics addressed are functional groups, spatial stratification and succession patterns over time, involving bacteria, protists, fungi, and micro-invertebrates. Emphasis is placed on the role of the species diversity in functional groups.
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by
Call Number: GF10 .E63
While the relationship between man and nature has been a constant feature of the human situation, the human impact on the environment has only recently become a topic of general interest to students, as well as to scholars and professionals in disciplines across the board. This three-volume set, written by a team of international experts, provides not only broad historical coverage on how human beliefs and actions have altered the natural world, but also covers the latest developments in the field. An analysis of natural phenomena and events and their impact on human societies is also included.With over 400 articles, this fascinating set will prove a definite reference source on environmental change over the course of human history, across cultures, and in the modern world. Description from the Publisher.
Taking Sustainable Cities Seriously by
Call Number: EBSCOhost eBooks
Portney begins by reviewing the conceptual underpinnings of sustainable development and sustainable communities. The comparisons that follow provide a foundation for assessing the range of what is possible and desirable for sustainability initiatives. In the book's conclusion, Portney assesses the extent to which cities can use the pursuit of sustainability either to foster change in public values or merely to reinforce values that are already reflected in systems of governance.
The Biosphere and Noosphere Reader: Global Environment, Society and Change by
Call Number: EBSCOhost eBooks
The Reader is the first comprehensive history of the noosphere and biosphere. Drawing on classical influences, modern parallels, and insights into the future, the Reader traces the emergence of noosphere and biosphere concepts within the concept of environmental change. Reproducing material from seminal works, both past and present, key ideas and writings of prominent thinkers are presented, including Bergson, Vernadsky, Lovelock, Russell, Needham, Huxley, Medawar, Toynbee and Boulding, and extensive introductory pieces by the editors draw attention to common themes and competing ideas.
Call Number: QH541.5 .M3 M664
Each volume provides information about a particular biome's function, resources, and diversity, helping young readers experience the many climates and regions of Earth. Clearly written and easy to use, this comprehensive set provides an excellent overview of the prominent ecosystems of the world.