Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Times
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, cars & more.
SET UP YOUR FREE ACCOUNT BY GOING TO: http://libguides.eastern.edu/nyt
New York Times Archive: TimesMachine
Browse issues in the archives of the New York Times from 1851-1980.
Visit http://libguides.eastern.edu/nytaccess to learn about setting up your account.
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Regional Business News
"Provides coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years."--EBSCOhost
Wire Services & Press Agencies
The world's largest international multimedia news agency.
Agence France-Presse is an international news agency headquartered in Paris, France. AFP is the third largest news agency in the world,
An independent, non-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York City.
Even typically reliable sources, whether mainstream or alternative, corporate or nonprofit, rely on particular media frames to report stories and select stories based on different notions of newsworthiness. The best thing to do in our contemporary media environment is to read/watch/listen widely and often, and to be critical of the sources we share and engage with on social media.
Here are some websites that can help you identify media bias.