Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The SBL Handbook of Style by
Call Number: Ref PN147 S26 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
In Reserves Collection at the library's Circulation Desk. Check out for use in the library
Web Citations in SBL Handbook
Web Citations--SBL Handbook of Style
Use this document for creating citations for web sources. It supplements what the SBL Handbook of Style says about how to cite electronic sources.
It is based on a September 23, 2015 email to Dr. Jane Webster, Barton College Professor of Religion and Philosophy, from Nicole Tilford, Production Manager with SBL Press.
This online supplement for students in PDF format from the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) site gives pertinent information and multiple sample entries for footnote and bibliography entries, as well as a sample paper formatted in SBL style.
Unlike APA and MLA Styles, SBL style often uses footnotes rather than in-text (or "author-date") citations within the text of a paper or article.
The following is taken from the Student Supplement document for SBL.
For most word processing software, 10-point font is the default setting for footnotes. Footnotes in 10-point font are acceptable for most term papers, provided that the font type is consistent with the normal text of the paper. Some institutions, however, require 12-point font throughout (including footnotes). Especially for theses and dissertations, inquire with your advisor regarding the proper footnote style.
- Separate text and footnotes with a short rule of two inches.
- Indent the footnote number one-half inch, with subsequent lines of the citation justified
- to the left margin.
- Insert one en space between the number and the footnote text.
- Separate each entry with a single space.
- Maintain subsequent numbering throughout the paper
Sample Paper and Published Article in SBL
The following samples demonstrate SBL Style formatting. But remember that your professor is the ultimate authority on how you should cite papers/assignments for his or her class (regardless of what the style manual says!).
Sample Paper Formatted in SBL Style
This sample paper by Dr. Jane Webster uses footnotes for the secondary sources used within the paper (with the superscript numbers in the text corresponding to the same numbers for the footnotes at the bottom of the page), and in-text or parenthetical citations for the primary sources (the biblical passages: book, chapter, and verse). In the bibliography at the end of the paper, note that the information is the same as the information in the footnotes at the bottom of the page, but it is formatted differently.
Sample Published Article Formatted in SBL Style
This article by Dr. Rod Werline shows how a published work looks when formatted in SBL style. Note that unlike a paper turned in for an assignment, the text is single- rather than double-spaced, but the footnotes look the same as they would for an assignment. (This article sample does not include a bibliography.)
Attributed to Dr. Jane Webster & Dr. Rod Werline at Hackney Library, Barton College, NC. August 2017
Director of Libraries
, Citation and Research Guides
, Communication Studies
, Copyright Resources
, English & Literature
, Faculty Services
, Health Sciences
, Medical Studies
, Performing Arts
, Social Work