LibGuides: THEO 210: Foundations of Christian Spirituality: Welcome

THEO 210 Required Texts

Streams of Living Water by Richard J. Foster
Call Number: BV4501.2 .F6546 1998

ISBN: 0060667435

Publication Date: 1998
Life You've Always Wanted by John Ortberg
Call Number: BV4501.2 .O723 2002

ISBN: 0310246954

Publication Date: 2002-09-29

Ignite a deeper, more vibrant relationship with God that impacts not just your spiritual life but every aspect of your daily life. John Ortberg calls readers back to the dynamic heartbeat of Christianity--God's power to bring change and growth--and reveals how and why transformation takes place. The Life You've Always Wanted offers modern perspectives on the ancient path of the spiritual disciplines. But it is more than just a book about things to do to be a good Christian. It's a road map toward true transformation that starts not with the individual but with the person at the journey's end--Jesus Christ. As with a marathon runner, the secret to finishing a race lies not in trying harder, but in training consistently--training with the spiritual disciplines. The disciplines are neither taskmasters nor ends in themselves. Rather they are exercises that build strength and endurance for the road of growth. The fruit of the Spirit--joy, peace, kindness, etc.--are the signposts along the way. Paved with humor and sparkling anecdotes, The Life You've Always Wanted is an encouraging and challenging approach to a Christian life that's worth living--a life on the edge that fills an ordinary world with new meaning, hope, change, and joy.
Discover Your Spiritual Gifts by C. Peter Wagner
Call Number: BT767.3 .W33 2012

ISBN: 9780830762316

Publication Date: 2012-05-14
Zondervan NIV Study Bible by Kenneth L. Barker (Editor)
Call Number: BS195 .N37 2002

ISBN: 9780310923077

Publication Date: 2002-10-08

Welcome

Welcome to the Foundations of Christian Spirituality. Here you will find general information on how to locate sources related to the six major Christian traditions of spirituality: Contemplative, Holiness, Charismatic, Social Justice, Evangelical, and Incarnational.

How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are the different Christian traditions of spirituality. Under each traditions you'll find a list of resources- books, journals, websites, etc. to help you in your research.

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about Christian spirituality.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).

Academic Search Complete
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1, 13th Century-1893
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 is an archive of religious and theological literature from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2, 1894-1922
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 is an archive of religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922. It showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western religions.
Atla Religion Database (Atla RDB) with AtlaSerials (Atlas)
Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database combines the premier indexing from Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®), one of Atla's online full-text collections of major religion and theology journals.
JSTOR
Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues from over 2,500 titles.
New Testament Abstracts Online
A product of a partnership between Atla and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Old Testament Abstracts
A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
Research in Ministry
"Research in Ministry® (RIM®) indexes and abstracts projects and theses from over 100 Doctor of Ministry (DMin), Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) and Doctor of Educational Ministry (DEdMin) programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS)."--ATLA.com.