Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peer Reviewed Journals
Peer reviewed journals are essential to scholarly research. What are they? Peer reviewed journals publish article by scholars in the field. These articles have been reviewed by experts in the subject area. Sometimes they suggest revisions before publishing to ensure the research demonstrates rigor and validity. Because of this process the articles presented in the published journal are considered to exemplify the best research in the field of study.
The easiest and fastest way to find a peer reviewed article is to use the library's databases. You will either be able to immediately access the article or you can request it through inter-library loan (ILL).
A to Z Journal List
Find out what journals Warner Library has about your research topic! Here you can search by journal title or browse by subject.
A to Z Journal List Contains a searchable list of all the library's fulltext journal title holdings and locations.
Have you found a journal article that library does NOT have full-text access to? Don't worry! We can get it for you within 48 hrs. and have it delivered straight to your email. This service is called Rapid ILL. To use it, access the link below. Research just got easier!
Remember - when requesting an article, please make sure all the information boxes are filled in. The ISSN is most important! It is the mechanism that sends the request to a library who has the article.
Refworks with Login link and How to use it
Import citations from research databases
- Organize your citations in folders
- Search within them
- Create citations from scratch
- Compile bibliography/works cited
- Share your citations with other RefWorks users
These journals are availble through different database provides.
To access these, you must sign using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).
Annual Review of Law and Social Science
"strives to enhance the understanding of the complex connections between law, culture, social structure, and society by focusing on social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors."--Annual Reviews
Contemporary Readings in Law & Social Justice
"Covers a range of topics relating to legal issues surrounding the impact of globalization on social development."--EBSCOhost
"Articles on all areas of corrections, news and legislation, commentary, profiles, book reviews and research perspectives published for members of the American Correctional Association."--EBSCOhost
Crime & Delinquency
"Crime & Delinquency (CAD), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is a policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice. CAD focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts and sanctions."--SAGE
Crime and Justice
"Since 1979, the Crime and Justice series has provided surveys of the latest international research on a wide range of topical subjects concerning crime, its causes, and its prevention, and the institutions that deal with it."--JSTOR
Crime, Media, Culture
"Crime, Media, Culture is a peer reviewed, international journal providing a vehicle for scholars working at the intersections of criminological and cultural inquiry. It promotes a broad cross-disciplinary understanding of the relationship between crime, criminal justice, media and culture."--SAGE
Criminal Justice and Behavior
"Criminal Justice and Behavior (CJB), peer-reviewed and published monthly, promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations. "--SAGE
Criminal Justice Ethics
"Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy."--EBSCOhost
Criminal Justice Policy Review
"Criminal Justice Policy Review (CJPR), published quarterly, is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal committed to the study of criminal justice policy through quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methodological approaches."--SAGE
Criminology and Criminal Justice
"The journal publishes scholarly articles on all areas of criminology, crime and criminal justice. It includes theoretical pieces, as well as empirically-based analyses of policy and practice in areas that range from policing to sentencing, community penalties and prisons; drug use to organized crime and terrorism; and from crime prevention to victims of crime."--SAGE
"an innovative journal dedicated to research related to women, girls, and crime within the context of a feminist critique of criminology."--SAGE
"Homicide Studies (HS), published quarterly, bridges the gap between academic and practitioner with high quality, multidisciplinary articles devoted to the dissemination of information concerning research, public policy, and applied knowledge related to the study of homicide."--SAGE
International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology
"International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology (IJO), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for more than five decades has provided therapists, counselors, researchers, forensic psychologists and psychiatrists, criminologists and policy makers with challenging research on topics including; violent crime, sexual offending, domestic violence, juvenile delinquency, criminal profiling, and risk assessment. There is an emphasis on the treatment of the offender--both as to theory and for clinical practice."--SAGE
Issues in Child Abuse Accusations
"Goal is to advance care for children through pointing to the mistakes of the rush to solve the problem of child abuse, sharing facts about the reality of abuse, & discussing new ways to respond to accusations, vitcims, perpetrators, & accused."--EBSCOhost
Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice
"Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice (CCJ), published quarterly and guest-edited by an expert in the topic being studied, focuses on a critical issue in contemporary criminal justice in order to provide a cogent, thorough, and timely exploration of the topic. Authoritative, balanced examinations on a variety of critical issues in criminal justice today include; organized crime, community policing, gangs, white-collar crime, and excessive police force."--SAGE
Journal of Correctional Education
"Serves as a resource for academic research in correctional education, current issues/Legislative updates in correctional educations & practices for correctional educators."--EBSCOhost
Journal of Investigative Psychology & Offender Profiling
"Publishes information on investigative pyschology & profiling."--EBSCOhost
Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
"peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers articles, research notes, review essays and Special Issues."--SAGE
The Prison Journal
"The Prison Journal (TPJ), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is a central forum for studies, ideas, and discussions of adult and juvenile confinement, treatment interventions, and alternative sanctions. Exploring broad themes of punishment and correctional intervention, TPJ advances theory, research, policy and practice. "--SAGE
"Theoretical Criminology is concerned with theories, concepts, narratives and myths of crime, criminal behaviour, social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice, social regulation and governance."--SAGE
Trends in Organized Crime
"Provides information & analysis about organized crime that is sometimes difficult to locate & access; focusing on crime's linkage to organized agencies of the state & its affiliated agencies."--EBSCOhost